Finding Images: Using Images

There are published style guidelines on how to cite an image within a paper or presentation. Remember to always provide proper attribution!  Reed College Library provides image citation examples for MLA, APA, and Chicago styles:

• in MLA Style
• in APA Style
• in Chicago Style

Also, most image collections (but not all) have directions for how to attribute their images so be sure to check the terms of use within image collection sites. 

Citing ARTstor Images

Copyright is a type of intellectual property law and is a bundle of rights of the author or owner of a creative work.  See the U.S. Copyright Office for a discussion of copyright.

Fair Use is an important limitation to copyright law.  The American Library Association defines and outlines fair use and states, "The Fair Use Doctrine is one of the most important limitations on the exclusive rights of the copyright holder. It allows that copyright can be infringed because strict application of the law impedes the production and dissemination of works to the public" See the ALA site and the Fair Use Guidelines for more information.

Each collection or image should provide guidelines on any restrictions to their use. Some image collections allow personal or educational uses for example, but not for profit uses.

Creative Commons defines the different types of copyright agreements for their images so that it is clear how each image may be used.  Flickr also provides copyright information - it depends on the user but many images in flickr can be shared as long as you give credit to the artist.  Morguefile offers free stock photography that many times can be shared without attribution.

The best thing you can do when using images you find in a collection on the web is to understand the use agreements.  You wouldn't want to share a photo or other type of image without proper permission or credit to the artist.

Ultimately it is your responsibility to understand the use guidelines for any image you use.

"Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools." - from the website Creative Commons has a standardized system for copyright terms of use that allows for some sharing and use on terms set by the copyright holder.

View the 3 minute video by Creative Commons

Sometimes it is difficult to assess whether a work is in the public domain, but when a creative work is considered in the public domain it is free to use as you wish.  Creative Commons provides a detailed definition.

flickr

save, sort, share your photos online with the flickr community.  the system has established community guidelines and you can assign a Creative Commons license to your images based on your preferences. Click sign up to get started.

Basically...

• Royalty free means the user of the image purchases or licenses the right to use an image without having to pay royalties to the copyright holder in the future. 
• Rights managed images have restrictions on their use.