Lifespan Development: Find Articles

• Databases allow you to search for citations and full-text articles in popular magazines and scholarly journals
• Databases cover all sorts of subjects and are especially useful for current information
• Databases index information which has gone through an editorial review process
• Databases are structured and allow you to find information more precisely
• By setting limiters in databases, you can specify "scholarly journal" and "full-text"

Where can you find the UAS databases? On the library's homepage @A-Z Databases

Journal Title Search provides you with links to full text of all the journals owned or licensed by UAS. In addition, we link to free online journals when relevant to UAS curriculum. This tool is especially effective when you have a citation for an article in-hand. It is also helpful if you would like to browse a the contents of a journal online.

Find the following databases through the Database Vendors link on the top page of the Ketchikan Campus Library's web page.  They're the most helpful databases for your Psychology 250, Lifespan Development, class:

EBSCOhost Databases (you can search the following multiple databases at the same time; remember to limit to full-text and to peer-reviewed articles):

   • Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

   • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. EBSCOhost calls this the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

   • PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).

   • PsycInfo is the American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, and is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.

ProQuest is another database available to UAS students with articles about psychology. Be sure to limit your search to full-text and peer-reviewed articles.

Scholarly journals provide an in-depth analysis of topics.

Scholarly journals may be published by a professional organization.

The author is usually an expert or specialist in the field.

Articles are written in the jargon of the field for scholarly readers.

Articles are more structured and may include an abstract, methodology, results, conclusion and bibliography.

Articles are reviewed and critically evaluated by peers or experts in the field.

A bibliography and/or footnotes always provided to document the research.

Most scholarly journals are also considered "peer-reviewed", defined as "[t]he process by which an academic journal passes a paper submitted for publication to independent experts for comments on its suitability and worth; refereeing."  Oxford English Dictionary Online.

For more information, go to the Campus Library's website.