LibGuides: Social Sciences: Find Books, Articles, and More!

Finding Books and Media

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for books, music, videos and more! Over 3.2 million items in libraries throughout the State of Alaska.

You can find books, media (like DVDs and CDs) and other items in the Library's collection by using the Egan Library Catalog (ALC).

Tip! If you find an item in our catalog that is not available in Egan Library, but is at one of the participating libraries, simply place a hold on the item. It will be delivered to your home library, and you will be notified when it is ready for check-out.

Gale Ebooks

Gale ebooks This link opens in a new window Ebook titles selected by the Egan Library, primarily encyclopedias and other general reference titles. View tutorial:

Gale Ebooks is a growing collection of electronic reference books we add to with titles supporting UAS programs. In this electronic collection, when you view the "articles" in these reference books there is a choice to LISTEN to it being read to you. You may also choose to download the article in PDF format or in MP3 format.

Locating Journal Articles in Your Field

While all of the databases below have great information for the Social Sciences, how do you narrow down to a specific field, like History? There is often a way to browse by subjects - or journals within a subject - in these databases. Find your field, and start from there to get better results!

You can identify the leading journals in your field by cross-referencing several resources. A great first step is to identify the websites for the leading professional organization in your field to see what publications they are affiliated with. Once you locate journals, be sure to visit their websites to read about their editorial and review processes (or visit the library to view a print copy if available).

Egan Library Print Journals
The print journal collection at the Egan Library is located near the Reference Desk. The current issues of journals are shelved alphabetically by title and are easy to browse. Start at the "A" section and walk through all journals listed "American Journal of..."

Journal Titles This link opens in a new window
Find periodicals available in full text, open access, or at the Egan Library. Search for the title or subject of journals and newspapers.
Can also search ebooks, reports, conference proceedings, streaming video, and more, by changing the search filters.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of entire runs of 19th and 20th century scholarly journals, as well as a large collection of ebooks. View Tutorial:
Disciplines include African American Studies, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Botany, Business, Ecology, Education, History, Language and Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, and Statistics. Page images of journal contents may be viewed, printed, and downloaded; book content is generally found by chapter.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, and urban studies.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary database providing full text access to over 3,100 scholarly publications including nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Subject coverage includes, but is not limited to, social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals in multiple disciplines but with an emphasis on titles in Science & Technology, Social Sciences, and Humanities.

All Social Sciences Databases

Additional Databases for Psychology

In addition to the other databases listed here in the guide, these databases are specifically for information on Psychology.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains citations and summaries of articles from over 9,900 sources (journals, plus books, chapters, dissertations, and technical reports) in psychology and related fields, published worldwide from 1887-present. PsycINFO gives you the broadest searching power for publications in psychology.
If FULL TEXT is available, you will be linked to the full text of articles found in PsycARTICLES, or other EBSCO databases. PsycINFO gives you the broadest searching power for publications in psychology.
Index - not all entries available in full text. If the article you need is not available, contact Egan Library. The Library may be able to obtain it using interlibrary loan.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

APA Class Codes
Pro-tip for using PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES: you can limit your search by the APA Class Codes, giving you more precise results. The easiest way to get to these codes is by this link - and they recommend downloading the handy one-page PDF document for reference.

Looking for Advanced Database Tools?

We have a guide for helping you get more out of the databases - doing things like saving searches and having the system run them for you, or tracking citations on articles. Find these resources and more in this guide!

Advanced Researcher Tools Guide from UAS