LibGuides: Education: Find Books, Articles, and More!

Highlighted Databases for Education

ERIC (Ebsco version) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from nearly 1000 educational and education-related journals.
Egan Library also maintains a small collection of ERIC microfiche for content that isn't available online, titles can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
Index - not all entries available in full text. If the article you need is not available, contact Egan Library. The Library may be able to obtain it using interlibrary loan.

Education Journals
more...less...
Search for the full text and page image of articles on hundreds of education topics.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
A highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals.
This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Taylor and Francis Online
more...less...
A collection of journals in multiple disciplines but with an emphasis on titles in Science & Technology, Social Science, and Humanities.
Science Direct
more...less...
Access to over 2,500 science journals and almost 20,000 books online. Find Education under the Social Sciences.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of entire runs of 19th and 20th century scholarly journals. Disciplines of journals include African American Studies, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Botany, Business, Ecology, Education, History, Language and Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, and Statistics. Page images of journal contents may be viewed, printed, and downloaded. Find Education under the Social Sciences.
Disciplines include African American Studies, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Botany, Business, Ecology, Education, History, Language and Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, and Statistics. Page images of journal contents may be viewed, printed, and downloaded; book content is generally found by chapter.

All Education Databases
more...less...
Many more databases are available through UAS on Education. There are also related databases - such as for Art, or Children's Literature. Click the "Details" button for more information on these databases.

Featured Books

The Global Achievement Gap by Tony Wagner
Call Number: LB1607.5.W34
This title is available online!
How to Do Your Research Project: A Guide for Students in Education and Applied Social Sciences by Gary Thomas
Call Number: LB1028.T445
Liberating Learning: Technology, Politics, and the Future of American Education by Terry M. Moe; John E. Chubb
Call Number: LB1028.3.M625, eBook
This title is available online!
Higher Education in the Digital Age by William G. Bowen
Call Number: LB2395.7.B67
Taking Science to School: Learning and Teaching Science in Grades K-8
Call Number: LB1585.3
This title is available online!

Finding Books and Media

You can find books, media (like DVDs and CDs) and other items in the Library's collection by using the Egan Library Catalog (ALC).

Search the Egan Library Catalog

Tip! If you find an item in our catalog that is not available in Egan Library, but is at one of the participating libraries, simply place a hold on the item. It will be delivered to your home library, and you will be notified when it is ready for check-out.

Gale Ebooks

Gale Ebooks - Education Reference

Gale Ebooks is a growing collection of electronic reference books we add to with titles supporting UAS programs. In this electronic collection, when you view the "articles" in these reference books there is a choice to LISTEN to it being read to you. You may also choose to download the article in PDF format or in MP3 format.