Advanced Researcher Tools

You create a customized search and the search automatically runs in the database on a regular basis.  The database will email you if there are new articles based on your search terms.

Let the database do the work for you!

These are the databases within which you can set up search alerts.  Below this box are detailed screenshots for each of these databases to demonstrate how to set up the search alerts.

In order to create a search alert in EBSCO, you must be signed in to "my Ebscohost".  To create a my ebscohost account, "sign in" in the upper right corner of the screen.

1. Do a search in the Ebsco database of your choice.

2. Once you have created the search you want to save as an alert, click "Search History" and then "Save Searches / Alerts".  In this example we do a search on the company "Marimekko" in the Business Source Premier database.

3. Once you click save searches / alerts, you can name your search and define how often you would like the database to run the search and send you alerts.  Make sure to save your search as an ALERT, and designate the frequency.

4. You will receive an email alert notice when your search has been run.

You do not need to sign in to a "My Research" account in order to set up search alerts in ProQuest.

1. Conduct a search in the ProQuest database of your choice.  In this example we are searching for music theraphy treatment outcomes in ProQuest Psychology Journals database.

2. On the search results screen, there is an option towards the top to "Create alert"

3. Once you select "create alert" you will be prompted to name the search, provide your email address, and schedule the frequency of the search.

For setting search alerts in ScienceDirect, you must create your own personal account.

1. Conduct a search on your topic.  In this example I do a search on "art education" and (integration or collaboration) in Social Sciences sources.

2. At the top of the search results page it gives you the options to edit your search, save your search, save as a search alert, or create a RSS feed.

3. When I select "Save as search alert" ScienceDirect prompts me to name my alert, provide my email address, and decide the frequency to run the alert (monthly, weekly, daily, or inactive) *note that I must be logged in, in order to save a search alert

4. I will receive an email with links to new articles when they are found with my search alert.  No more work necessary, the process is automated in this case!

1. First, do a search...

2. When you have the search that you want to save as an alert, there is a box on the right that gives you the option to save the search as an alert...

3. JSTOR will run the search automatically for you on a monthly, weekly, or daily basis. 

4. Your saved searches (aka "search alerts") will appear under Search Alerts in your MyJSTOR account, where you can edit or delete them.

Do your search in Google Scholar.  There should be a "create alert" option at the bottom of the results screen.  Click CREATE ALERT and follow the prompts from there and fill in your email address.  You will receive an email alert when new content is added based on your search terms. It's that easy!