Skip to main content

Tongass National Forest Aerial Photographs: Background & Coverage

Guide to using Egan Library's collection of aerial photographs of the Tongass National Forest

Background

The aerial photographs of the Tongass National Forest formerly belonged to the U.S. Forest Service Juneau Forestry Sciences Laboratory.  They were transferred from the Forest Service to UAS Egan Library in 2013.  Processing is ongoing and some sections are not yet available.  If you see a quadrangle on the list that is not on the shelf, please contact Caroline Hassler.

Some photos are missing from the collection.  Not every photo shown on an index map will be available. A master set of photographs and indexes is held by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Aerial Photography Field Office in Salt Lake City, Utah. Copies may be requested from that office:

USDA - Farm Service Agency
Aerial Photography Field Office (APFO)
2222 West 2300 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84119-2020
(801) 844-2922 - Customer Service Section
(801) 956-3653 - Fax
(801) 956-3654 - TDD
apfo.sales@slc.usda.gov
http://www.apfo.usda.gov

Requests should indicate that the agency is the Forest Service, and should include the Project Number, Roll Number,  and Image Number (also known as the Frame Number).

Coverage

The collection consists of over 9,000 aerial photographs of Southeast Alaska taken between 1976 and 1998. Scales differ but are generally either 1:12,000 or 1:16,000.  One set for Berners Bay (1987) has a scale of 1:80,000. Most photographs are color.  Photographs are organized by U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) topographic quadrangles (1:63,360 series).  Each quadrangle has its own index map on which the location of each photograph is marked.  Photographs should be used together with the index maps.  For more detailed maps, users may want to also consult the USGS topographic quadrangle maps in the adjacent map case.

To see which USGS topographic quadrangles are covered, refer to either the coverage map or the coverage list below.

This collection is housed on the Main Level next to the Alaska topographic maps case. 

Subject Guide

Egan Library