LibGuides: News and Newspapers: Online Through UAS

Highlighted Databases for Newspapers and Current Events

Newsbank This link opens in a new window NewsBank is comprised of "Archive of Americana" historical collections and "Access World News". In Access World News Collection explore issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Search diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. You may also go directly to search: "America's News Magazines", Alaska News, The World, or The United States.
In Access World News Collection explore issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Search diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. You may also go directly to search: "America's News Magazines," Alaska News, the World, Major Metro Titles, or the United States. Updated daily.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes over 20,000 pro/con viewpoints, approximately 19,000 reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. View tutorial:
A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Gale in Context: College This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: College is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. View tutorial:
The database merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Points of View Reference Center
more...less...
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools at middle school level with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
All Newspapers and Current Events Databases

NewsBank

If you're looking for a resource all about the news, NewsBank is your place! Updating daily with newspapers from around the world, this database lets you browse and search in a variety of ways. There are also special reports on current hot topics.

However, when you get there, NewsBank doesn't quite look like any other database. For one thing, you can't immediately search when you get to it! Instead, you have to get into one of the resources, generally Access World News:

Once you're in Access World News (or another NewsBank collection, like America's News Magazines), you have a lot more options. Here you can search, with a lot of control (terms in the headline? Or a caption), as well as browse. There are limits for the types of news sources, and a history of your searches. And, if you want more options, the "Show Help" button gives advice on searching and using the site.

Student Newspapers

Looking for student news? Here are the three student newspapers in the University of Alaska system:

ScholarWorks@UA

ScholarWorks@UA is University of Alaska's institutional repository created to share research and works by UA faculty, students, and staff.

This is a growing collection from all three universities, and here you can find news about UA and by UA.

ScholarWorks@UA