LibGuides: Political Science 102: Find Articles

Why Use Library Databases?

From the Trevor M. Davis Photograph Collection at the Alaska State Library.
Statehood Celebration, July 4, 1959, Juneau. Colorguard at left. Official guests seated in chairs on lawn of Juneau Library; women in formal dresses seated below lawn; spectators all around. See http://vilda.alaska.edu

Databases allow you to search for citations and full-text articles in popular magazines and scholarly journals
Databases cover all sorts of subjects and are especially useful for current information
Databases index information which has gone through an editorial review process
Databases are structured and allow you to find information more precisely
By setting limiters in databases, you can specify "scholarly journal" and "full-text"

Where can you find databases? On the library's homepage: A to Z Databases

Recommended Databases

JSTOR
Full runs of more than 2,600 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including more than 330 history journals with full-text articles.
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,700 journals, including full text for nearly 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites.

What To Do If You Can't Find the Articles You Need

Help! I need an article not available online.

If you find a citation for an article that is not available to you online, you have options to get that article.

1. Ask a librarian for help at libket@alaska.edu. Librarians are experts in finding articles for you.

2. Check our Journal Title Search (see link below) - search for a journal, magazine, or newspaper to find out if the library has access.

3. Interlibrary Loan - we can order an article for you from another library - this normally takes several days to receive the article. There is no fee to UAS students for Interlibrary Loans.

Never pay for an article on a publisher's website - ask a librarian for help and you'll save both time and money.

Journal Titles This link opens in a new window Find periodicals available in full text, open access, or at the Egan Library. Search for the title or subject of journals and newspapers.
Can also search ebooks, reports, conference proceedings, streaming video, and more, by changing the search filters.

E-Learning Students

On-campus student? E-Learning student? UAS libraries provide many online resources for the convenience of all students. As you use this guide, you'll notice that it includes information about searching and finding both print and online resources. All students have access to our electronic resources. You will need your UA username and password to access our e-resources, like eBooks and the full text of articles online from anywhere off-campus . If you need to retrieve or reset your UA username and password, visit ELMO.

If you are an e-Learner, see our brief information on getting books and finding articles from the Ketchikan Campus Library, and our research help for students pageto learn more about how to get the materials you need for your research and study.