Skip to main content

ENGL303 - Literature and the Environment: Home

Resources and search strategies to help you find information for your reports.

Finding background information

Encyclopedias are great resources to use in order to begin to develop a foundation of understanding of your topic.  The books below are all available electronically as part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).

More Search Tips!

In addition to  the general search tips that are included on the Find Books and More section of this guide, there are also search tips that are specific to particular databases.  Try them out to save time when you search and find more relevant results!

Article databases

According to your syllabus, your reports will take one of three forms: history, biography, or criticism.  The databases below are your best bets for finding relevant articles about these different aspects of your selected authors and texts.

Find Books & more

Find it all!  OneSearch

Use  OneSearch to search across the library's collections for books, DVDs, articles (many of which are full-text), and more!  Take a look at our OneSearch - Highlights research guide, then give it a try!  OneSearch also includes books from the collections of other libraries in southeast and southcentral Alaska.

OneSearch

SEARCH TIPS! Consider using these when searching article databases, too.

  • Add descriptive terms to your title / author, i.e:



  • Add an asterisk to terms to broaden your search results, i.e. critic* will search for criticism, critical, critique, etc.
  • Use or to retrieve more search results, i.e. criticism OR analysis OR review

Getting materials from other libraries

We do our best to have the materials that you need for your research and study in our collection.  If we don't have an item that you need, you may find it in one of the libraries that participate in the Joint Library Catalog (which is the same as the Egan Library Catalog).  If it's in the Joint Library Catalog, then you can get the item just by placing a hold on it.

Make sure the you always check LinkSourceBy using it, you may be able to find a print copy of an article, and it's an easy way to complete an Interlibrary loan form.

You can also get books and articles from libraries around the world using our Interlibrary loan (ILL) service.  Before you can use ILL, though, you need to register for an ILLiad account

Subject Guide

Egan Library

Need help?

Are you stuck?  Still can't get started with your research? 
If so - ask a librarian - we are here to help!

Contact the Egan Library for research help by: