LibGuides: SOC 201: Home

Home

Background and historical information

Encyclopedias are excellent resources to use to find background amd historical information. You can also gain insight on how you might want to approach and narrow a general topic by reading encyclopedia articles. Gale Virtual Reference Library, linked below, is a great source for subject-specific encyclopedias.

Gale ebooks This link opens in a new window
Ebook titles selected by the Egan Library, primarily encyclopedias and other general reference titles. View tutorial:

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences by William A. Darity
ISBN: 9780028661179
Publication Date: 2007

Scholarly sources

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary database providing full text access to over 3,100 scholarly publications including nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Subject coverage includes, but is not limited to, social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily.

JSTOR
A multidisciplinary database strong in the Social Sciences and Humanities; narrow by Sociology from the Advanced Search

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to over 2,400 science journals and almost 200 books online.

News and Other Library Sources

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Academic and popular articles, audio, video, images, and web resources on a variety of current issues. Use "Browse issues" feature to see the list of available topics, or search directly for a topic using the search bar.
A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Articles from news sources from around the world. You can limit by state, and Newsbank includes 26 Alaska newspapers. A great choice for regional and local information.
In Access World News Collection explore issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Search diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. You may also go directly to search: "America's News Magazines," Alaska News, the World, Major Metro Titles, or the United States. Updated daily.

Getting materials from other libraries

Alaska Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
The Alaska Library Catalog is a catalog of books and other materials found in Alaska libraries. You can search all Alaska libraries, or limit to a particular library or region.

We do our best to have the materials that you need for your research and study in our collection. If we don't have an item that you need, you may find it in one of the libraries that participate in the Alaska Library Catalog (which contains the Egan Library Catalog). If it's in the Alaska Library Catalog, then you can get the item just by placing a hold on it.

For online articles, make sure to use the Full Text Finder link! You may be able to find a full copy of an article, or, if not, it's an easy way to complete an Interlibrary loan form.

You can also get books and articles from libraries around the world using our Interlibrary loan (ILL) service. Log in using your University of Alaska ID and password.

Need help?

Contact the Egan Library for research help by:

Visiting the Reference Desk in the Egan Library - open when the Library is open
Telephone: during our open hours at 796-6502 (local) or 1-877-796-6502 (toll free)
Emailing us
Chat - look for it on the Library's homepage