Skip to main content

ENGL418 - Travel: Home

Suggestions on where to start your research on various perspectives on travel.

What is travel?

Consider how you can describe the idea of "travel."  How do others describe it?  This will be important not only for the class itself, but also for finding articles and other works that you find interesting and relevant.  What is "travel'?

Article databases


From flickr user David Jubert

The databases below are good choices for finding critical articles related to travel.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to find citation counts and to assist you in determining the significance of a particular book or article.

Introductory information

Encyclopedias are great resources to use to find different approaches to a topic, like travel.  Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is an online collection of encyclopedias with articles representing a variety of perspectives from different disciplines.  The books below are just a couple of the many available in the collection. 

Search GVRL here!

 

Books and a lot more

Find books, media, and more using the Library's catalog.  It's easy to get books from other libraries in Alaska using this catalog!

 

 

By using OneSearch you can find books, articles, media (like DVDs), and more by using a single search box!

OneSearch
 

 

Getting materials from other libraries

We do our best to have the materials that you need for your research and study in our collection.  If we don't have an item that you need, you may find it in one of the libraries that participate in the Joint Library Catalog (which is the same as the Egan Library Catalog).  If it's in the Joint Library Catalog, then you can get the item just by placing a hold on it.

Make sure to use the Full Text Finder!  By using it, you may be able to find a print copy of an article, and it's an easy way to complete an Interlibrary loan form.

You can also get books and articles from libraries around the world using our Interlibrary loan (ILL) service.  Before you can use ILL, though, you need to register for an ILLiad account

 

Need help?

Contact the Egan Library for research help by:

  • Visiting the Reference Desk in the Egan Library - open when the Library is open
  • Telephone: during our open hours at 796-6502 (local) or 1-877-796-6502 (toll free)
  • Filling out an email form
  • Chat - look for it on the Library's homepage
  • SMS messaging -  -  907-312-1044

Subject Guide

Egan Library