Skip to main content

America and the Vietnam War: Find Articles

An online guide to help UAS Ketchikan students locate and use the most appropriate library resources for this class and to find help when they need it!

Recommended Databases

Journal Search

Journal Search provides you with links to the full text of all of the journals owned or licensed by UAS. In addition, we link to free online journals when relevant to UAS curriculum. This tool is especially effective when you have a citation for an article in-hand. It is also helpful if you would like to browse the contents of a journal online.

E-Learning Students

On-campus student? E-Learning student? – UAS libraries provides many online resources for the convenience of all students.  As you use this guide, you'll notice green student sitting at desk w/computerthat it includes information about searching and finding both print and online resources.  All students have access to our electronic resources.  You will need your UA username and password to access our e-resources, like eBooks and the full text of articles online.  If you need to retrieve or reset your UA username and password, visit ELMO.

Why Use Databases?

Soldiers carry a wounded comrade

Photo from the National Archives
"Soldiers carry a wounded comrade through a swampy area, 1969. 
National Archives Identifier 531457

Databases allow you to search for citations and full-text articles in popular magazines & scholarly journals.

Databases cover all sorts of subjects and are especially useful for current information.

Databases index information which has gone through an editorial review process.

Databases are structured and allow you to find information more precisely.

By setting limiters in databases, you can specify "scholarly journal" and "full-text".

Where can you find databases? On the Campus Library's homepage @Database Vendors

What To Do If You Can't Find the Articles You Need

Help! I need an article not available online. If you find a citation for an article that is not available to you online, you have options to get that article.

1. Ask a librarian for help. Librarians are experts in finding articles for you.

2. Check our Journal Search - search for a journal, magazine, or newspaper to find out if the library has access.

3. Interlibrary Loan - we can order an article for you from another library - this normally takes several days to receive the article. There is no fee to UAS students for Interlibrary Loans.

 

Never pay for an article on a publisher's website - ask a librarian for help and you'll save both time and money.

Ask Me for Help!

Kathleen Wiechelman
Contact:
UAS Ketchikan
Ziegler Building
2600 7th Avenue
Ketchikan, AK 99901
907-228-4517 or 1-888-550-6177 toll-free
Website / Blog Page

Scholarly and Peer-reviewed Journals

Scholarly journals provide an in-depth analysis of topics.

Scholarly journals may be published by a professional organization.

The author is usually an expert or specialist in the field.

Articles are written the jargon of the field for scholarly readers.

Articles are more structured and may include an abstract, methodology, results, conclusion and bibliography.

Articles are reviewed and critically evaluated by peers or experts in the field.

A bibliography and/or footnotes always provided to document the research.

Most scholarly journals are also considered "peer-reviewed", defined as "[t]he process by which an academic journal passes a paper submitted for publication to independent experts for comments on its suitability and worth; refereeing."  Oxford English Dictionary.

For more information, go to the Campus Library's website.