LibGuides: Budget Reductions at Egan Library: FY2017

Resources Added in FY 2017

Ebsco eBook Academic Collection

We are entering into a new consortial purchase of the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) online with UAA and UAF. For the same price we have been paying for the print we will now get online JAMA with perpetual access, as well as two other JAMA titles: Internal Medicine and Neurology.

JAMA Network This link opens in a new window Publications from the American Medical Association. The UA libraries have access to the titles JAMA, JAMA Internal Medicine, and JAMA Neurology.
JAMA Network Open content also available.

We cut several Public Administration journals in consultation with faculty (see below), and added the title Public Administration Review (online) per their request.

Journals Cut in FY 2017

We received helpful faculty input from Schools of Management and Arts and Sciences. The following subscriptions were canceled for 2017:

Administration and Society
American Review of Public Administration
Review of Public Personnel Administration
Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science
Auk (comes with Condor)
Radical History Review (a print only subscription)
New York Review of Books (a print only subscription)

This will save $5683 dollars in this year. It cuts our subscription expenditures by almost 9%.

List of Resources Cut

Databases Cut in FY 2017 for Budget Purposes

Applied Science & Technology

ARTstor (on Sep 30, 2016)

Biography Reference Bank

Book Review Digest Plus

Ebrary Academic Complete Ebook Collection

MLA Bibliography

Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard)

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

Children's Lit Review (online)

We own volume 1 (1976) through volume 210 (2017) of Children's Literature Review Online from Gale.

It is available and searchable in Gale Literature Criticism:

Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window Includes full-text critical entries from Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (1978-Present), Contemporary Literary Criticism (1973-Present), and Children's Literature Review (1976-2017).

SLED Databases
Due to FY2017 budget cuts, the following resources will be cut from SLED (Statewide Library Electronic Doorway). Egan Library access to these and dozens of additional databases is made possible through SLED.

Mango Languages (on June 30, 2016)

Teen Health & Wellness (on January 15, 2017)