LibGuides: Budget Reductions at Egan Library: FY2020

Information on the Fiscal Year 2020 Budget

The Governor signed the FY2020 budget on the last business day of last fiscal year, and included a great many line item vetoes. This did not allow for much planning time, and the university declared a freeze on purchases and renewals. The library had been tracking actions taken regarding our resources on this page. After a very eventful summer, at the September 12-13 Board of Regents meeting, a budget was finally approved for the university. Since then we have been able to make our renewals, with a number of cuts to meet the reduced budget. Cuts were communicated with program faculty prior to most decisions.

List of Resources Added

Journals Added in FY 2020

Note: in an effort to not have there only be cuts, and to match changes and focuses in UAS programs, the following resources have been added as new subscriptions. All are expected to start in January 2020.

Critical Ethnic Studies

Environment, Space, Place

Fine Homebuilding

Fish Alaska

NAIS: Native American and Indigenous Studies

Nautilus

Permafrost

Reason

USA Today

Databases Added in FY 2020

JSTOR Arts & Sciences IX (note: in response to student feedback about the need for more Anthropology titles, the library identified this JSTOR package, with subject focuses in: Business, Economics, Archaeology, Anthropology, Social and Political Sciences, and Interdisciplinary Cultural Studies. Several low-use Anthropology journals were cut to help afford adding this database, in consultation with Anthropology faculty.)

JSTOR e-Books Evidence Based Acquisitions collection (note: see "Joint Databases" to the left for more details)

A Note on Kanopy

Kanopy service was delayed at the start of the fiscal year, as we were not authorized to commit funds. When we finally re-added Kanopy, we restricted immediate viewing of films from most suppliers, instead pointing users to a request form. We did not receive many requests, and in the Spring opened Kanopy collections up wide. We learned a good deal through all of this process, and apologize for the ongoing inconvenience.

Remember if you need to use a specific film, for a class screening or a club or special event, please contact the library and we can make a proactive purchase of the film license.

List of Resources Cut

Journals Cut in FY 2020 for Budget Purposes

Note: our current subscription to these titles should end in December 2019. Many titles are still available in databases, check Journal Titles for available database coverage:

Journal Titles Want to know if we have a particular journal at Egan Library in print, through a database, or open access online? Use Journal Search to look for the title.

Alaska Medicine (ceased publication)

American Ethnologist

American Indian Quarterly

Arctic Anthropology

Current History

Earth (ceased publication)

Ecological Monographs

Fishermen's News

Journal of AHIMA

Journal of Anthropological Research

Journal of Wildlife Management

Marine Ecology

Money (ceased publication)

Proceedings of the Western Snow Conference

Scientific American

Shakespeare Quarterly

Social Education

Social Studies & the Young Learner

Wall Street Journal

YC: Young Children

Journals Changed in FY 2020 for Budget Purposes

Note: we changed our subscription from "print and online" to "online only" for the following resources.

Environmental History

Pacific Historical Review

Reviews in American History

Western Historical Quarterly

Databases Cut in FY 2020 for Budget Purposes

National Geographic Virtual Library Current (1995-Present) (note: National Geographic remains available in print in the library, and in other library databases, as well as the pre-1995 archives in the Virtual Library)

National Geographic in Journal Titles

OCLC (including FirstSearch, WorldCat Discovery, and associated specialized OCLC search pages) Note: access restored after input from Faculty.

Standing Orders Cut in FY 2020 for Budget Purposes

All

Note: we have canceled receiving all Standing Orders books, such as reference titles and series. We will make individual purchases of titles as becomes appropriate, funds allowing.