It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CHEM 104: A Survey of Organic and Biochemistry: Home
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.
ScienceDirectAccess to over 2,500 science journals and almost 20,000 books online.
JSTORAn archive of entire runs of 19th and 20th century scholarly journals, as well as a large collection of ebooks. Disciplines include African American Studies, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Botany, Business, Ecology, Education, History, Language and Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, and Statistics. Page images of journal contents may be viewed, printed, and downloaded; book content is generally found by chapter.
Natural Science CollectionThe Natural Science Collection includes the Agricultural & Environmental Science, Biological Science, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Databases and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Academic Search PremierLarge multidisciplinary database providing full text access to over 3,100 scholarly publications including nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed journals. Subject coverage includes, but is not limited to, social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily.
Nursing and Allied Health DatabaseFind complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
National Geographic Virtual LibraryMagazine archive of National Geographic magazine in full color, 1888-1994. Search features include browse, advanced, image search, and term frequency searches. Citation tools, email, and document URL available. If you create an account with the virtual library there are additional features including bookmarking and saving favorite documents. National Geographic is also available in other databases and in the Egan Library.
A guide to electronic collections and selected devices that works can be downloaded to.
Secondary Sources: an odd example
This video presented by the American Chemistry Society caught my interest for a couple of reasons.
It illustrates how the scientific community was consulted by the entertainment industry so that they could accurately portray the work that a chemistry teacher and/or chemist would do in a lab.
It illustrates how the medium of television is essentially used as a secondary source to describe complex lab science.
However the reliability of the information becomes a bit suspect when the DEA is brought into the discussion and they tell the American Chemistry Society that though we value your input into advising on the realistic portrayal of chemistry, we really don't want you to teach people how to make methamphetamine. And therefor some of the information presented is intentionally innaccurate.
Types of Information Sources
Primary Articles in the Sciences
Definition: Original research published by person(s) who did the study. This literature can include:
Report of scientific discoveries
Results of experiments
Results of clinical trials
Examples of Primary Literature:
Published results of research studies in an scholarly journal
Published results of scientific experiments in a report or journal
Proceedings of conferences and meetings
Secondary Articles in the Sciences
Definition: Articles that contain commentary on or a discussion about primary sources.
Analyzes and interprets research results
Analyzes and interprets scientific discoveries
Examples of Secondary Literature:
Publications about the significance of research or experiments in a report
Review of the results of several experiments or trials in a scholarly journal