Library Services and Resources for Adjunct Faculty at UAS Ketchikan

• Databases allow you to search for citations and full-text articles in popular magazines and scholarly journals
• Databases cover all sorts of subjects and are especially useful for current information
• Databases index information which has gone through an editorial review process
• Databases are structured and allow you to find information more precisely
• By setting limiters in databases, you can specify "scholarly journal" and "full-text"

Where can you find databases? On the library's homepage @A-Z Databases

The following databases can be found through the A-Z Databases link on the Ketchikan Campus Library's web page. They're generally very helpful databases for the majority of classes and topics:

For a list of all UAS databases, go to the A-Z Databases link on the Ketchikan Campus Library's web page.

For a list of databases by topic, use the "All Subjects" drop-down menu on the A-Z Databases page.

Call the Campus Library with any questions about our databases at 907-228-4567!

• Scholarly journals provide an in-depth analysis of topics.
• Scholarly journals may be published by a professional organization.
• The author is usually an expert or specialist in the field.
• Articles are written the jargon of the field for scholarly readers.
• Articles are more structured and may include an abstract, methodology, results, conclusion and bibliography.
• Articles are reviewed and critically evaluated by peers or experts in the field.
• A bibliography and/or footnotes is/are always provided to document the research.
• Most scholarly journals are also considered "peer-reviewed", defined as "[t]he process by which an academic journal passes a paper submitted for publication to independent experts for comments on its suitability and worth; refereeing."  Oxford English Dictionary Online.

For more information, go to the Campus Library's website.