LibGuides: Major Authors: Robert Frost: Find Articles

Why Use Databases?

Databases allow you to search for citations and full-text articles in popular magazines and scholarly journals
Databases cover all sorts of subjects and are especially useful for current information
Databases index information which has gone through an editorial review process
Databases are structured and allow you to find information more precisely
By setting limiters in databases, you can specify "scholarly journal" and "full-text"

Where can you find databases? On the library's homepage @A-Z Databases

Recommended Databases

Find the following databases through the A-Z Databases link on the top page of the Ketchikan Campus Library's web page. They're the most helpful databases for your Robert Frost class:

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window Search across Gale's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Cross-searching includes all UAS-licensed content from Literature Resource Center, Literary Criticism, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Search by the name of the author for best results. This is the best resource available to UAS students regarding literary criticism, author biographies, primary sources, and multimedia sources.

Ebscohost Databases This link opens in a new window Landing page for all of our Ebscohost databases, covering all subjects.

EBSCOhost Databases (you can search multiple databases at the same time; remember to limit to full-text and to peer-reviewed articles):

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Humanities Full Text includes many of the most important journal in the humanities, including the full text of more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window An archive of entire runs of 19th and 20th century scholarly journals, as well as a large collection of ebooks. View Tutorial:
Disciplines include African American Studies, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Botany, Business, Ecology, Education, History, Language and Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, and Statistics. Page images of journal contents may be viewed, printed, and downloaded; book content is generally found by chapter.

JSTOR is a database made up of articles from more than a 30,000 journals, all of them scholarly. Nearly all of the content is full-text. Click on "Advanced Search" and build your search terms, one or two keywords in each box.