Spatial data & satellite imagesInteractive MapsGeological Maps
This is the "Home" page of the "Finding Maps" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Maps  

A guide to finding maps in Egan Library and online map collections, specializing in Alaska maps.
Last Updated: Sep 9, 2013 URL: http://uas.alaska.libguides.com/content.php?pid=472080 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction to Maps

The Egan Library has some in-house map collections and there are also many online collections of maps. 

This guide is an entry point to some major collections, with descriptions about the types of maps you can find.


If you know of a map source you would like to see on this research guide - especially Alaska-specific sources, please contact us at the Egan Library.

 

Citing Maps

North Carolina State University Libraries has created a useful guide to citing maps and atlases, depending on the format.

Amazon map

 

Online portals to maps

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

Start searching the historical map collection of the University of Texas at Austin.

David Rumsey Map Collection

The David Rumsey historical map collection has over 41,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.-- from the website

American Memory Project at the U.S. Library of Congress

The American Memory Project features "Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection." - from American Memory Project site

Scout Report Internet Archives

search the Scout Report for "maps" or "maps Alaska" or the type of map you are looking for.  This source provides authoritative linking to reviewed map sites .

 

Map from the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip