Library Research Guides
Library Research Guides
This special collection is named after Ḵaalḵáawu Cyril George, a Tlingit leader from the Deisheetaan Clan of Angoon, and partially funded by a Rasmuson Foundation grant. The Cyril George Collection honors indigenous voices and Alaska Native Knowledge in a collection of over 3,000 volumes on the main floor of Egan Library. The collection includes sub-collections for Alaska Native Arts, Alaska Native Language, and Alaska Native Society. A Global Indigenous Knowledge collection has materials with more of a focus on indigenous people of North America and the world, as well as more general language materials, and literature. All of the indigenous literature can be found in the Global collection, including by Alaskans, so that they can all be located together for a broader collection representing indigenous voices. There are also two material-based sub-collections, for Media and Oversize materials.
Use the links below to search for books and media materials found in the Cyril George Collection, and to learn more about Cyril George.
The Alaska Native Reader by 
An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States by 
Learn, Teach, Challenge: Approaching Indigenous Literatures by 
Indigenous Research Methodologies 2nd Ed. by 
Sources and Methods in Indigenous Studies by 
Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples by 
Indigenous Identity and Resistance: researching the diversity of knowledge by 
Stop Talking: Indigenous Ways of Teaching and Learning and Difficult Dialogues in Higher Education by Research Guides by Egan Library | University of Alaska Southeast are licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0
