LibGuides: Research Methods in the Social Sciences, SSCI 300: Find Articles

Recommended Databases

Find the following databases through the A to Z Databases link on the Ketchikan Campus Library's web page. They're the most helpful databases for your SSCI 300 Research Methods in the Social Sciences class. For remote access to any of the UAS databases, login with your UA username and password.

EBSCOhost Databases

(you can search the following multiple databases at the same time; remember to limit to full-text and to peer-reviewed articles):

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary database providing full text access to more than 4,700 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Subject coverage includes, but is not limited to, social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association, contains citations and summaries of articles from over 9,900 sources (journals, plus books, chapters, dissertations, and technical reports) in psychology and related fields, published worldwide from 1887-present. If FULL TEXT is available, you will be linked to the full text of articles found in PsycARTICLES, or other EBSCO databases. PsycINFO gives you the broadest searching power for publications in psychology.
If FULL TEXT is available, you will be linked to the full text of articles found in PsycARTICLES, or other EBSCO databases. PsycINFO gives you the broadest searching power for publications in psychology.
Index - not all entries available in full text. If the article you need is not available, contact Egan Library. The Library may be able to obtain it using interlibrary loan.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Subjects Covered: Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Area Studies, Community Health & Medical Care, Corrections, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Law, Minority Studies, Planning & Public Administration, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, Sociology, Urban Studies.
Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, and urban studies.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of entire runs of 19th and 20th century scholarly journals, as well as a large collection of ebooks. View Tutorial:
Disciplines include African American Studies, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Botany, Business, Ecology, Education, History, Language and Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, and Statistics. Page images of journal contents may be viewed, printed, and downloaded; book content is generally found by chapter.

Journal Search

Journal Titles This link opens in a new window
Can also search ebooks, reports, conference proceedings, streaming video, and more, by changing the search filters.

Journal Title Search provides you with links to full text of all the journals owned or licensed by UAS, whether online or on the shelf. In addition, we link to free online journals when relevant to UAS curriculum. This tool is especially effective when you have a citation for an article in-hand. It is also helpful if you would like to browse a the contents of a journal online.

What to Do if You Can't Find the Article You Need

Help! I need an article not available online.

If you find a citation for an article that is not available to you online, you have options to get that article.

1. Ask a librarian for help at libket@alaska.edu. Librarians are experts in finding articles for you.

2. Check our Journal Title Search (see link below) - search for a journal, magazine, or newspaper to find out if the library has access.

3. Interlibrary Loan - we can order an article for you from another library - this normally takes several days to receive the article. There is no fee to UAS students for Interlibrary Loans.

Never pay for an article on a publisher's website - ask a librarian for help and you'll save both time and money.