LibGuides: LGBTQIA+ Studies: Find Website Resources

General Web Resources

SEAGLA: Southeast Alaska LGBTQ+ Alliance
"Providing a supportive network for gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer people in Southeast Alaska."
GLAA
"Founded in 1971, GLAA is an all-volunteer, non-partisan, non-profit political organization that defends the civil rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people in the Nation's Capital."
Queer Resources Directory
"Contains 25,488 files about everything queer."
Lambda Literary
"Lambda Literary nurtures and advocates for LGBTQ writers, elevating the impact of their words to create community, preserve our legacies, and affirm the value of our stories and our lives."
LGBTQIA+ Studies: A Resource Guide
"This guide offers an introduction to the LGBTQIA+ collections of the Library of Congress."
The Trevor Project
"The Trevor Project is the world’s largest suicide prevention and crisis intervention organization for LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and questioning) young people."
Animating Queer History
"Queer people are more visible than ever in the United States—but how did we get here? Animating Queer History answers that question in a series of animated videos about the LGBTQ+ past."

Primary Sources Online

ACT UP Oral History Project
"An archive of 187 interviews with members of ACT UP, the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York." Each interview has a corresponding transcript available to download as a PDF.
Archives of Lesbian Oral Testimony
"We digitize and make available online oral histories and testimony of same-sex and same-gender attracted women, inclusive of Two Spirit, queer, bisexual, and lesbian women, transmen, and others. The archives and the web site is supported by and operates out of Simon Fraser University Library's Special Collections and Rare Books. "
Digital Transgender Archive
"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections."
GLBT Historical Society
"The GLBT Historical Society collects, preserves, exhibits and makes accessible to the public materials and knowledge to support and promote understanding of LGBTQ history, culture and arts in all their diversity."
Lesbian Herstory Archives
"The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather, preserve and provide access to records of Lesbian lives and activities."
LGBTQ History: Oral History Hub
"As the largest LGBTQ oral history project in North American history, the Collaboratory connects archives across Canada and the U.S. to produce a digital history hub for the research and study of gay, lesbian, queer, and trans oral histories."
ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives
"The oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers."

Criteria for Evaluating Sources

To evaluate a source that you may want to use for a paper or presentation, use the 5Ws+H questions below to do a quick review for credibility. These questions help you to examine the source itself plus what others say about the source.

Who is the author or creator?

An Expert, Scholar, Journalist, Nonprofit, Corporation, Government, Advertiser / Influencer, Unknown?
Look up the author using a search engine to learn about their background.

When was it published / posted?

Is it timely for your topic?

Where was it published / posted?

Scholarly journal, Magazine, News source, Website, Social media, Other?
Look up the publication or website on Wikipedia or using a search engine. What did you learn about the source?

Why does the source exist?

Inform, Persuade, Politicize, Research, Educate, Entertain, Sell?

What is the main idea?

How is it relevant to your topic?

How does it incorporate evidence?

Reference list (cited works), Quotes, Charts / graphs, Methodology, Original research / Data, Anecdote / Personal Experience, Other?

Adapted from: The Source + Beyond the Source Evaluation Framework by DePaul University Library CC:BY:NC