LibGuides: LGBTQIA+ Studies: Find Articles & Media

Library Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of entire runs of 19th and 20th century scholarly journals, as well as a large collection of ebooks. View Tutorial:
Disciplines include African American Studies, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Botany, Business, Ecology, Education, History, Language and Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, and Statistics. Page images of journal contents may be viewed, printed, and downloaded; book content is generally found by chapter.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals in multiple disciplines but with an emphasis on titles in Science & Technology, Social Sciences, and Humanities.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary database providing full text access to over 3,100 scholarly publications including nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Subject coverage includes, but is not limited to, social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily.
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
A wide and multi-disciplinary collection of films: documentaries, indie and foreign films, classics, and popular movies. View tutorial:

Kanopy Streaming has a Gender Studies category which includes films around LGBTIQ themes.

Database Collections & Journals

JSTOR LGBT Collection
Part of JSTOR's Independent Voices Collection, The LGBT collection contains 25 publications that chronicle the birth of the Gay and Lesbian movements in the United States.
JSTOR Gender Studies Journals

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints has several collections of academic journal articles, news, reference, viewpoints, and media around LGBTQIA+ Topics including:

Selected Journal Titles:

Journal of Gay & Lesbian Social Services
Journal of Gay & Lesbian Mental Health
Journal of LGBT Youth
The Advocate
Articles, commentary, personality profiles, reviews and book reviews representing a wide variety of gay and lesbian ideas and perspectives. Recent issues available in print at the library.

Open Access Journals

GLQ : A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
GLQ publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies Commons
"Free, Full-text access to scholarly articles, dissertations, book chapters and more, provided by hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions."
Transgender Health
"A peer-reviewed, multi-disciplinary journal dedicated to addressing healthcare issues of Transgender individuals, their communities, and families."
Southern Voice newspaper collection, 1988-1995
"Southern Voice newspaper was a significant resource for the LGBT community in the Southeast from 1988 to 2010, providing in-depth information on topics such as the fight against AIDS, marriage equality, legal issues, workplace discrimination, and violence against gay individuals."

Highlighted Guides for Library Resources

Beginning Your Research @ Your Library How to get started on your research and the steps of the research process.
OneSearch By using OneSearch you can search: -Most of our library catalog, including ebook content. -Approximately 80% of the journal collection including citations, abstracts, and content from specific databases. This guide highlights some of the useful features of OneSearch!