Skip to main content

ENGL 370 Native American Literature

This guide identifies journals, databases, articles, and texts related to Native American Literature (and select works). Access to some resources is limited to UAS affiliates.

About This Guide

This research guide includes recommended subject search terms, books, journals and databases for locating material related to Native American Literature, literary criticism and the history of Tribal Nations in relation to U.S. Federal Indian Policy.  

Start with OneSearch to find articles, books, media and more.  Begin with a few key concepts, for example, try formulating your search like this:

"Title of Literary Work" AND "literary criticism"  or  "Author of literary work" AND "literary criticism"

Subject Search Terms

Below is a list of subject terms and linked search results that can help you find resources from the library collections related to Native American Literature.

Relevant Databases

Featured Journals

Using a Citation

If you have a citation to an article or your instructor has told you to look in a particular journal, you have several different options to find the article. Most of the journals that the Egan Library subscribes to are available in our databases. 

To search for a journal or article:

  • search by journal title using Journal Search (3rd tab on the OneSearch box) to see if the journal you are looking for is available in full-text in one of our databases;
  • search by article title (put article title in quotation marks, ie "Your Title Here") using OneSearch to see if it is available in full text.
  • if it is not available in the Egan Library you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request
  • if you would like help finding the article contact the Reference Desk for further assistance.