LibGuides: Social Sciences: Geography

Article Databases & Specific Journals for Geography

The following article databases and journals provide peer-reviewed and academic articles on topics relating to geography. Access to these databases is limited to currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff at UAS. If you are accessing these materials from off campus, you will need to login with your UA username and password. If the article you need is not available full text through one of our databases, you may request it for free through interlibrary loan. Articles are usually scanned and delivered via email.

Academic Search Premier
Large multidisciplinary database providing full text access to over 3,100 scholarly publications including nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Subject coverage includes, but is not limited to, social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily.
Taylor & Francis Online
A collection of journals in multiple disciplines but with an emphasis on titles in Science & Technology, Social Sciences, and Humanities.
Newsbank
Newsbank is comprised of "America's Historical Newspapers" and "Access World News" for news both past and present.
In Access World News Collection explore issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Search diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. You may also go directly to search: "America's News Magazines," Alaska News, the World, Major Metro Titles, or the United States. Updated daily.
National Geographic Virtual Library
Magazine archive of National Geographic magazine in full color, 1888-1994.
Search features include browse, advanced, image search, and term frequency searches. Citation tools, email, and document URL available. If you create an account with the virtual library there are additional features including bookmarking and saving favorite documents. National Geographic is also available in other databases and in the Egan Library.

Antipode
"Peer reviewed coverage of radical geography theory and research, particularly that which contributes to politics and practice."
Gender, Place & Culture: A Journal of Feminist Geography
"The aim of Gender, Place and Culture is to provide a forum for debate in human geography and related disciplines on theoretically-informed research concerned with gender issues. It also seeks to highlight the significance of such research for feminism and women's studies"
Journal of Cultural Geography
"An international forum for scholarly research devoted to the spatial aspects of human groups, their activities, associated landscapes, and other cultural phenomena"
Social and Cultural Geography
"Confronts topical issues relating to social/cultural problems and issues geography and fosters scholarly debate about them."

Country Studies

BBC News Country Profiles
Historical, political, and economic information on countries & territories worldwide, including audio and video clips from the BBC archives
CIA World Factbook
"Information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities"
Library of Congress Country Studies
Electronic versions of 80 books which "present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world"
Migration Policy Institute Country Resources
Country resource pages that provide demographics and context for the migration experience worldwide.
United Nations Population Division

National Web Resources

Society of Architectural Historians Archipedia
Contains histories, photographs, and maps for over 20,000 structures and places in the United States, including buildings, landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Searchable database of historic newspapers from across the United States.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Online Archive of California
"Free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions"
University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections
"Photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media from the University of Washington Libraries, University of Washington Faculty and Departments, and organizations that have participated in partner projects with the UW Libraries"
National Archives Research
Search for military records, people, places, events, and topics relevant to US History.
Digital Public Library of America
"Discover 29,856,256 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States"
Historical Map Web Sites
Compiled by the University of Texas at Austin Perry-Castañeda Library
United States Census Bureau

Alaska-Specific Web Resources

Alaska Maps
We have access to a lot of maps - both physical and online - that cover Alaska by land and by sea. This guide can help you find these and other map resources!
Alaska's Digital Newspaper Program
Free access to searchable content in historic Alaskan newspapers.
State of Alaska Community Information Resources
Links to information about Alaskan communities, including statistics, photos, plans, and maps.
Juneau History Research
Links to Juneau-specific, Alaskan, and national history research resources compiled by the Juneau-Douglas City Museum. Includes links to Digital Bob (an archive of Gastineau Channel area history articles), Digital Betty (Juneau-Douglas vital records 1898-1936), and Gastineau Channel Memories (history of Juneau families 1880-1959).
Alaska's Digital Archives
Searchable digital collection of historical photos, oral histories, moving images, documents, maps, and objects.
Globalizing Southeast Alaska
"A tour of the cruise ship industry's representation of wilderness and its material reshaping of Southeast Alaska's landscape, identity, and economy."
Mapping Industrial Juneau
"A visualization of mining projects in Juneau, Alaska from 1880-1944."