LibGuides: History Resources: General History Resources

Article Databases

The following article databases provide peer-reviewed and academic articles on topics relating to history. Access to these databases is limited to currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff at UAS. If you are accessing these materials from off campus, you will need to login with your UA username and password. If the article you need is not available full text through one of our databases, you may request it for free through interlibrary loan. Articles are usually scanned and delivered via email.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of entire runs of 19th and 20th century scholarly journals, as well as a large collection of ebooks. View Tutorial:
Disciplines include African American Studies, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Botany, Business, Ecology, Education, History, Language and Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, and Statistics. Page images of journal contents may be viewed, printed, and downloaded; book content is generally found by chapter.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary database providing full text access to over 3,100 scholarly publications including nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Subject coverage includes, but is not limited to, social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals in multiple disciplines but with an emphasis on titles in Science & Technology, Social Sciences, and Humanities.
Gale ebooks This link opens in a new window
Ebook titles selected by the Egan Library, primarily encyclopedias and other general reference titles. View tutorial:

Print Resources

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window

The library catalog provides access to books, journals, and media materials located in the Egan Library as well as all of the libraries in the Alaska Library Catalog, which includes UAA and UAF along with many public library collections throughout Alaska. Books may be requested for free from any library in our network simply by placing a hold on the title.

FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
Millions of records for books and other materials worldwide.
Identify resources not available in the Alaska Library Catalog in WorldCat and order through interlibrary loan.
Index - not all entries available in full text. If the article you need is not available, contact Egan Library. The Library may be able to obtain it using interlibrary loan.

To request a title, complete an interlibrary loan request for the item. Interlibrary loan is a free service provided to current UAS students, faculty, and staff.

Image / Art Resources

Finding Images
by Jennifer Ward Last Updated Feb 2, 2024 207 views this year

Documentary Resources

Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
A wide and multi-disciplinary collection of films: documentaries, indie and foreign films, classics, and popular movies. View tutorial:

Primary Sources

Check out the Primary Sources in History tab in this guide for library and credible web resources.