LibGuides: Alaska History: Find Articles

Why Use Library Databases?

Alaska Statehood

Statehood Celebration at Juneau Memorial Library, Raising 49th Star Flag, Juneau, AK
(from Alaska's Digital Archives)

Databases allow you to search for citations and full-text articles in popular magazines & scholarly journals
Databases cover all sorts of subjects and are especially useful for current information
Databases index information which has gone through an editorial review process
Databases are structured and allow you to find information more precisely
By setting limiters in databases, you can specify "scholarly journal" and "full-text"

Where can you find databases? On the library's homepage: A to Z Databases

Recommended Databases

EBSCOhost's Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a large multidisciplinary database providing full text access to more than 4,600 publications, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR
Full runs of more than 2,600 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including more than 330 history journals with full-text articles.
Humanities Full-Text
Humanities Full-Text includes the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984, all focused on the humanities. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

What To Do If You Can't Find the Articles You Need

Help! I need an article not available online.

If you find a citation for an article that is not available to you online, you have options to get that article.

1. Ask a librarian for help at libket@alaska.edu. Librarians are experts in finding articles for you.

2. Check our Journal Title Search (see link below) - search for a journal, magazine, or newspaper to find out if the library has access.

3. Interlibrary Loan - we can order an article for you from another library - this normally takes several days to receive the article. There is no fee to UAS students for Interlibrary Loans.

Never pay for an article on a publisher's website - ask a librarian for help and you'll save both time and money.

Journal Titles This link opens in a new window Find periodicals available in full text, open access, or at the Egan Library. Search for the title or subject of journals and newspapers.
Can also search ebooks, reports, conference proceedings, streaming video, and more, by changing the search filters.

Journal Search

Journal Titles This link opens in a new window
Can also search ebooks, reports, conference proceedings, streaming video, and more, by changing the search filters.

Search in Journal Title Search to find out if the UAS Libraries can provide you with access to the full text of a particular journal or journal article. In addition, Journal Search links to free online journals when relevant to the UAS curriculum. This tool is especially effective when you have the citation for an article in-hand.

Ask Me for Help!

UAS Ketchikan Campus Library

Email Me

Contact:

Ziegler Bldg
2600 Seventh Avenue
Ketchikan, AK, 99901

907-228-4567