Alaska History

America, Russia, and the Meeting of Frontiers Meeting of Frontiers explores the comparative history of the Russian expansion across Siberia to the Russian Far East and the Pacific, the American expansion westward, and the meeting of the Russian-America frontier in Alaska and the Pacific Northwest.

North to Alaska Selected documents from the National Archives tracing Alaska's history from the Russian treaty to statehood.

Links to Historical Photographs:

Baldy, from the Working Dogs to Sled Dogs Collection of the Alaska Historical Library

Alaska's Digital Archives, which "presents a wealth of historical photographs, albums, oral histories, moving images, maps, documents, physical objects, and other materials from libraries, museums and archives throughout our state."

Statewide Library Electronic Doorway provides all Alaskans with links to resources of all types, specifically relating to Alaska.  Click on this link to find more information about Alaska history, including photos, constitutional convention recordings, newspaper archives, and World War II history.

With their kind permission, we're linking to an extremely helpful Library Guide called Alaska: Research and Resources, created by staff at Western Washington University’s division, Heritage Resources (a unit of Western Libraries), which consists of Special Collections, the University Archives, and the Center for Pacific Northwest Studies (CPNWS). CPNWS is a collecting repository that seeks primary source, archival materials documenting the history and development of the Pacific Northwest region including Oregon, Washington, Montana, Idaho, and Alaska.