LibGuides: Anthropology Resources: Home

Databases for Anthropology Journals / Articles

The following article databases provide peer-reviewed and academic articles on topics relating to anthropology. Access to these databases is limited to currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff at UAS. If you are accessing these materials from off campus, you will need to login with your UA username and password. If the article you need is not available full text through one of our databases, you may request it for free through interlibrary loan. Articles are usually scanned and delivered via email.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of entire runs of 19th and 20th century scholarly journals, as well as a large collection of ebooks. View Tutorial:
Disciplines include African American Studies, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Botany, Business, Ecology, Education, History, Language and Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, and Statistics. Page images of journal contents may be viewed, printed, and downloaded; book content is generally found by chapter.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary database providing full text access to over 3,100 scholarly publications including nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Subject coverage includes, but is not limited to, social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals in multiple disciplines but with an emphasis on titles in Science & Technology, Social Sciences, and Humanities.
Gale ebooks This link opens in a new window
Ebook titles selected by the Egan Library, primarily encyclopedias and other general reference titles. View tutorial:

Anthropology Journals in Print Only

While Egan Library subscribes to many journals online, the journals listed below are only available in print at the library. Click on the title to go to the journal's homepage, where you can scan tables of contents and even find some open access articles. Once you find an article or issue you want, stop by the library to read it.

If you are not located in Juneau, fill out an interlibrary loan request, and we will scan and email you the article for free (for currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff).

Alaska Journal of Anthropology
Digital copies of articles are available for older issues.
Études Inuit Studies
Also available in JSTOR. Browse abstracts as well as tables of contents.
Journal of Ethnobiology
Issues prior to 2005 are available digitally on their website.
Journal of Northwest Anthropology
Browse the tables of contents for past issues.

eBooks in Anthropology

Egan Library has access to many quality academic eBooks in anthropology. The easiest way to find eBooks on your topic is to use OneSearch (see link below). Once you do an initial search for your topic, use the Source Types filter under your search box to limit to Ebooks.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Use OneSearch to search the library catalog, including ebooks and most of the journal collection. View tutorial:

ebooks @ UAS Libraries
by Jennifer Ward Last Updated Jan 24, 2024 196 views this year

Other Print Resources

Journal Titles This link opens in a new window
Want to know if we have a particular journal at Egan Library in print, through a database, or open access online? Use Journal Search to look for the title.
Can also search ebooks, reports, conference proceedings, streaming video, and more, by changing the search filters.
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window Search for books, music, videos and more! Over 3.2 million items in libraries throughout the State of Alaska.

The library catalog provides access to books and media materials located in the Egan Library as well as all of the libraries in the Alaska Library Catalog, which includes UAA and UAF along with many public library collections throughout Alaska. Books may be requested for free from any library in our network simply by placing a hold on the title.

Cite Your Sources

Check out our research guide on Citation Style Guidelines for more details and resources to help you cite your sources properly:

Citation Style Guidelines
by Jennifer Ward Last Updated Nov 15, 2023 201 views this year

Need Help?

Having trouble finding an article or book on your topic? Having issues accessing content online?

Contact us at the library: