Skip to Main Content

Library Research Guides

Language Revitalization Resources

This guide was created by students in the AKL 290: Indigenous Language Revitalization class and is meant to be a living document that students add to each year.

Annotated Bibliography of Language Revitalization Resources

Dictionary of Shm'algyackDictionary of Shm’algyack by Donna May Roberts

This dictionary was authored by Shu Gayna, Donna May Roberts, a first language Shm'algyack speaker from the community of Metlakatla, AK.  It is available for purchase in print from the Sealaska Heritage Store and has a free online PDF, with a link that works occasionally. It is most useful for learning Shm'algyack vocabulary.  It also has descriptions to support English speakers with reading Shm'algyack sounds. 

Roberts, Donna May. Dictionary of Shm’algyack. Sealaska Heritage Institute, 2009

Easy Lessons in Sm’algya̱x by Russell Hayward

These lessons were authored by first language Sm'algyax speaking elder, Russell Hayward, in community on Anette Island in the modern Alaskan orthography.  The special edition is available online and was published by The Haayk Foundation in 2017 with updated BC orthography developed by linguists.  The lessons are easy to access, teach phrases and vocabulary.  A pronunciation key describes mouth movement and placement that helps people begin to pronounce unique sounds.  It also includes conjugation and songs. 

Hayward, Russell. Easy Lessons in Shm’algyack. Edited by The Haayk Foundation, 2017 Edition ed., 1982.

Sm’algya̱x, Ts’msyen Sm’algya̱x Authority

This free online resource is a publication of the Ts’msyen Sm’algya̱x Authority, a community of first language speaking elders and language learners.  It is published in the BC orthography.  It contains many audio, and video recordings of conversations and lessons.  It is helpful for grammar and learning language through adaawx, oral history.

 Sm’algya̱x, Ts’msyen Sm’algya̱x Authority, www.smalgyax.ca/.

Sm’algya̱x Dictionary, Ts’msyen Sm’algyax Authority

This free online resource is a publication of the Ts’msyen Sm’algya̱x Authority. This rough draft of an online dictionary includes English to Sm'algyax translation and Sm'algyax to English with support for typing special characters.  The resource supports listening and pronunciation through recorded words and phrases by fluent speakers.  It is also helpful for understanding important aspects of Tsimshian culture through exploring through semantic domains of our language.

 Smalgyax Dictionary, Ts’msyen Sm’algyax Authority, www.webonary.org/smalgyax/  

Credits

CC:BY:NC:ND license icon

This annotated bibliography is licensed CC:BY:NC:ND. This license enables reusers to copy and distribute the material in any medium or format in unadapted form only, for noncommercial purposes only, and only so long as attribution is given to the creator

The following people contributed to this guide: Students from the Fall 2024 section of AKL 290


The University of Alaska (www.alaska.edu) is an Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Employer and Educational Institution. The University is committed to a policy of non-discrimination (www.alaska.edu/nondiscrimination) against individuals on the basis of any legally protected status.


Research Guides by Egan Library | University of Alaska Southeast are licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0Creative Commons iconattribution required icon, BYShare Alike Icon, SA