LibGuides: Statistics: International

Overviews

These resources provide a wide range of extensive statistics and are good starting points. Most of them are searchable by keyword.

UN Data
Search "numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.”
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Country specific statistics on education, literacy, science, technology, culture, communications, and more.
ICPSR
“ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.”
CIA World Fact Book
“Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.”
International Statistical Agencies
List of related international statistic sites and country statistical agencies compiled by the US Census Bureau. Note – these may not always be in English.
United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)
"Statistics for nutrition, health, HIV/AIDS, education, demographics, economics, women, child protection, and rate of progress."
Google Public Data Explorer
"Large, public-interest datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate." Users can create charts and graphs based on data from the World Bank, UNICEF, US Census Bureau and other reputable agencies around the world.
more...less...
Save your datasets by logging in with your Google account.
International Database
Browseable vital statistics and more from the US Census. You can compare results or countries and regions.

Business and Economics

Overview from the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development

OECD StatExtracts from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

Economic Indicators

World development indicators From the World Bank
UNData From the United Nations Statistics Division
World Economic Outlook Reports. From the IMF (International Monetary Fund)

Trade statistics

International Trade Statistics. From the World Trade Organization.
UN Comtrade (United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database)
International financial statistics. From the International Monetary Fund. It includes exchange rates, national interest rates, CPI, exports, imports, foreign exchange information and more.

Education

Education Data
covers all education levels and addresses key policy issues such as gender parity, teachers, and financing. From UNESCO Institute for Statistics
ED Stats
from the World Bank
International Education Statistics (IES)
from the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

Health

Global Health Observatory
World health statistics from the World Health Organization (WHO)
United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF)

Religion and Social Indicators

The Association of Religion Data Archives
includes religious data submitted by scholars and research centers in the world.
Social Indicators
from UN Statistics Division