LibGuides: Fitness : Egan Library's collection

Finding general and background information

If you need to get a basic understanding of a fitness concept, muscle group, or even a particular exercise, try searching one of our online encyclopedia collections, Gale Ebooks.

Highlighted books

Cyclopedia by William Fotheringham
ISBN: 9781569769461
This title can be placed on Hold from a partner library.
Born to Run by Christopher McDougall
This is available as an eBook and audio book!
Understanding Fitness by Julie K. Silver (Editor); Christopher Morin (Editor)
Call Number: RA781.U53 2008

Best bets - Scholarly articles

ScienceDirect
Get high-quality, peer reviewed articles on specific exercises, connections between mind and body, new health studies, and more! ScienceDirect includes original research studies and scholarly articles within all Science disciplines.
Alt Health Watch
Alternative health database providing full text for over 180 peer reviewed publications covering subject areas in complementary, holistic and alternative medicine.

Best bets - Magazine articles

Academic Search Premier
A large, multidisciplinary database providing access to popular and scholarly publications. Includes articles on many different aspects of fitness. Also includes access to the popular magazines "Prevention" and "Men's Health."
Health Source, Consumer Edition
Authoritative information on health-related questions. With this consumer-health database, discover healthy nutritional guidelines or search for the latest athletic training program. Also includes access to the popular magazines "Runner's World," "Bicycling Magazine," and "Shape" plus many more!