LibGuides: Primary Sources : Natural Sciences

A Word About Journals

Peer-reviewed aka "scholarly" aka "academic journals" can be a useful resource for finding primary sources. Not every peer-reviewed article is a primary source. Look for articles that present the results of original resource. Often these will be articles that have sections titled "results" and/or "methodology.

How to Read a Scientific Paper (Purdue University)
Slides explaining the usefulness of scientific papers and how to get the most from them.

Biology

Data - Datasets tagged "Alaska Biology" from Data.gov
A list of data sets tagged biology with Alaskan content produced by the US federal government and other entities. Add words to the search box that appears to narrow the list of data sets.
JSTOR Journals in Botany and Plant Sciences
Journals from around the world in the areas of botany and plant sciences.
JSTOR Materials in Biological Sciences
Books, journals and pamphlets from JSTOR in the biological sciences. Books and pamphlets are usually not primary sources.
ScienceDirect Life Sciences Journals
Links to journals and articles in biology and other life sciences.
SpringerLink Life Sciences Journals
Links to 387 full text journals in the life sciences.

Environmental Sciences

Data - Climate Datasets from data.gov
Data sets cataloged by the US federal government tagged with "climate." Add words to the search box that appears to narrow the list of data sets.
EPA Science Inventory
From the website, "The Science Inventory is a searchable database of research products primarily from EPA's Office of Research and Development. Science Inventory records provide descriptions of the product, contact information, and links to available printed material or websites."
ScienceDirect Environmental Science Journals
Links to 853 journals in environmental science.
SpringerLink Environmental Science Journals
Links to journals, books, conference proceedings, and articles in environmental science.
Oral Histories - Climate Change Project Jukebox (UAF)
From the website, "All of these people are experienced members of the native community who maintain close contact with elders and who have a strong interest in environmental issues because of their own activities on the land. Many of their observations provide direct links between the climate and environmental changes they observe and the effects of those changes on life in rural Alaska"

Geography and Environmental Resources

Data - Datasets tagged "Alaska Geography" from Data.gov
Listing of geography related data sets with Alaskan content produced by the US federal government and other entities. Add words to the search box that appears to narrow the list of data sets.
JSTOR Geography Journals
Links to geography journals. Some full text.
Library of Congress Online Map Collections
Listing of various collections of original maps of many areas around the world. Focused on the New World.
SpringerLink Journals in Earth Sciences
Links to journals, books, conference proceedings, and articles in the earth sciences. Mostly full text.
SpringerLink Geography Sources
Links to journals, books, conference proceedings, and articles in geography. Mostly full text.
Taylor and Francis Journals in Geography
As of April 2014, links to 132 journals in Geography. Some full text.

Marine Biology

Data - Datasets tagged "Alaska Marine Biology" from Data.gov
List of data sets with Alaskan content produced by the US federal government and other entities. Add words to the search box that appears to narrow the list of data sets.
ADFG Fishing and Subsistence Publications Searchable Database
From the website, "This page allows you to search all of the reports and publications published in the scientific and technical reporting series by ADF&G's Commercial Fisheries, Sport Fish, and Subsistence divisions. "
JSTOR Journals in Aquatic Sciences
Links to journals in marine biology and other aquatic sciences.

Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
includes aquatic sciences

Mathematics

Collections - Archives of American Mathematics
Links to finding aids to "the papers and records of mathematicians and mathematical organizations, the AAM is the premier resource for researchers seeking primary sources in mathematics." Some material, particularly photographs and moving images has been digitized.
Dr. Jeff Suzuki's Guide to Online Primary Sources in Mathematics
Dr. Suzuki is currently a professor at Brooklyn College (http://www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/web/academics/faculty/faculty_profile.jsp?faculty=556). This guide to online primary resources links to digitized versions of mathematical works, including Euclid's Elements.