LibGuides: Primary Sources : Humanities

Art

New York Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection Online
Images of artwork available for study. Can be browsed or searched.
Smithsonian Collections Search
Access to hundreds of thousands of art images and museum exhibits. Click on down arrow next to "search" to see limit options.

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Search across Gale's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Cross-searching includes all UAS-licensed content from Literature Resource Center, Literary Criticism, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Alaska Author Materials from Alaska Library Catalog
Items from Alaska Library Catalog relating to material of identified Alaskan authors including papers and biographies. Most of this material is not online but can be requested for delivery to the library of your choice.
Emily Dickinson Collection from Amherst College
Poems, correspondence and other material written by Emily Dickinson.
Project Gutenberg (Classic ebooks)
Good resource for pre-1923 books. Some available in audio.
Indigenous Literature
Links to Indigenous literature from the Cyril George Collection, including books, media, and ebooks.

See our Indigenous Studies Research Guide for additional resources, including oral histories, art, and language materials.

Alaska's Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Presents a wealth of historical photographs, albums, oral histories, moving images, maps, documents, physical objects, and other materials from libraries, museums and archives throughout the state.

Project Jukebox
"Project Jukebox is the digital branch of the Oral History Program at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. The collection contains over 13,000 individual recordings, including interviews with politicians, pioneers, and Native elders."
Subsistence: Primary Sources
Contains links to collections of primary source materials that relate to subsistence activities in Alaska, including hunting, fishing, gathering plants, and trapping.
Alaska Native Corporations and Organizations
Research guide to primary source collections held by Alaskan archives, libraries, and museums which relate to Alaska Native corporations, tribal, cultural, and other organizations.
Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act (ANILCA) Primary Source Collections
Links in left margin to collections of primary source material held by Alaskan archives, libraries, and museums which relate to the passage and implementation of ANILCA in Alaska.
The National Indian Boarding School Digital Archive (NIBSDA)
"NIBSDA was conceptualized to serve as a national digital platform and digital repository for boarding school archival collections throughout the United States."