LibGuides: Chemistry: Organic and Biochemistry: Recommended Resources

Egan Library Resources

Recommended Databases:

Annual Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Access to over 2,400 science journals and over 6,000 books online.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window An archive of entire runs of 19th and 20th century scholarly journals, as well as a large collection of ebooks. View Tutorial:
Disciplines include African American Studies, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Botany, Business, Ecology, Education, History, Language and Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, and Statistics. Page images of journal contents may be viewed, printed, and downloaded; book content is generally found by chapter.
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window The Natural Science Collection includes the Agricultural & Environmental Science, Biological Science, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Databases and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Large multidisciplinary database providing full text access to over 3,100 scholarly publications including nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Subject coverage includes, but is not limited to, social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily.
Nursing and Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications.
Designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.

Select Primary Sources

Select Secondary Sources

Select Hybrid Sources (publish original research and science journalism)

Scientific American

National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window Magazine archive of National Geographic magazine in full color, 1888-1994. View Tutorial:
Search features include browse, advanced, image search, and term frequency searches. Citation tools, email, and document URL available. If you create an account with the virtual library there are additional features including bookmarking and saving favorite documents. National Geographic is also available in other databases and in the Egan Library.