LibGuides: Cultural Geography: Find Books, Articles, and Media

Highlighted Journals for Cultural Geography

Antipode
"Peer reviewed coverage of radical geography theory and research, particularly that which contributes to politics and practice."
Gender, Place & Culture: A Journal of Feminist Geography
"The aim of Gender, Place and Culture is to provide a forum for debate in human geography and related disciplines on theoretically-informed research concerned with gender issues. It also seeks to highlight the significance of such research for feminism and women's studies"
Journal of Cultural Geography
"An international forum for scholarly research devoted to the spatial aspects of human groups, their activities, associated landscapes, and other cultural phenomena"
Journal of Postcolonial Writing
"Explores the interface between postcolonial writing, postcolonial and related critical theories, and the economic, political and cultural forces that shape contemporary global developments"
Social and Cultural Geography
"Confronts topical issues relating to social/cultural problems and issues geography and fosters scholarly debate about them."
Society and Space
"An international and interdisciplinary journal that publishes theoretically innovative scholarship that examines the contingent and possible relations between the social and the spatial"

Relevant Article Databases for Cultural Geography

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes, but is not limited to, social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
In Access World News Collection explore issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Search diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. You may also go directly to search: "America's News Magazines," Alaska News, the World, Major Metro Titles, or the United States. Updated daily.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Search features include browse, advanced, image search, and term frequency searches. Citation tools, email, and document URL available. If you create an account with the virtual library there are additional features including bookmarking and saving favorite documents. National Geographic is also available in other databases and in the Egan Library.

Featured Books & eBooks

Human Mosaic by Mona Domosh; Roderick P. Neumann; Patricia L. Price
ISBN: 9781429240185
Publication Date: 2011
Encounters and Engagements Between Economic and Cultural Geography by Barney Warf (Editor)
ISBN: 9789400729759
Publication Date: 2012-04-02
Human Geography: A History for the Twenty-First Century by Georges Benko and Ulf Strohmayer
ISBN: 9781444144710
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
The Many Layers of Culture Within Each City by Robert N. St. Clair; Wei Song
ISBN: 9780773443730
Publication Date: 2009-07-24
Humans in the Land by Sven Arntzen (Editor); Emily Brady (Editor)
Call Number: GF50.H86 2008
ISBN: 9788274773431
Publication Date: 2008-05-05
Multicultural Geographies : The Changing Racial/ethnic Patterns of the United States by John W. Frazier
ISBN: 9781438436838
Publication Date: 2010-01-01

Finding Books and Media

You can find books, media (like DVDs and CDs) and other items in the Library's collection by using the Alaska Library Network library catalog (see link below).

Tip! If you find an item in our catalog that is not available in Egan Library, but is at one of the participating libraries, simply place a hold on the item. It will be delivered to your home library, and you will be notified when it is ready for check-out.

Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for books, music, videos and more! Over 3.2 million items in libraries throughout the State of Alaska.

Additional Tools & Useful Research Guides

News and Newspapers
by David Cox II Last Updated Mar 25, 2024 109 views this year

Gale ebooks This link opens in a new window
Ebook titles selected by the Egan Library, primarily encyclopedias and other general reference titles. View tutorial:
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Use OneSearch to search the library catalog, including ebooks and most of the journal collection. View tutorial: