LibGuides: History Resources: US History

Books

Building the American Republic by Harry L. Watson
Call Number: HIST 131 & HIST 132
ISBN: 9780226300511
Publication Date: 2018
Ebook Volume 1: https://www.bibliopen.org/p/bopen/9780226300658
Ebook Volume 2: https://www.bibliopen.org/p/bopen/9780226300962
The Oxford Companion to United States History by Paul S. Boyer (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780195082098
Publication Date: 2001
An Indigenous Peoples' History of the United States by Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz
Call Number: CGC Global E76.8.D86 2014 & Ebook
ISBN: 9780807000403
Publication Date: 2014
An African American and Latinx History of the United States by Paul Ortiz
Call Number: E184.S75O79 2018 & Ebook
ISBN: 9780807013106
Publication Date: 2018
An Afro-Indigenous History of the United States by Kyle T. Mays
Call Number: CGC Global E98.R28M39 2021 & Ebook
ISBN: 9780807011683
Publication Date: 2021

Article Databases

The following article databases provide peer-reviewed and academic articles on topics relating to history. Access to these databases is limited to currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff at UAS.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of entire runs of 19th and 20th century scholarly journals, as well as a large collection of ebooks. View Tutorial:
Disciplines include African American Studies, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Botany, Business, Ecology, Education, History, Language and Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, and Statistics. Page images of journal contents may be viewed, printed, and downloaded; book content is generally found by chapter.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary database providing full text access to over 3,100 scholarly publications including nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Subject coverage includes, but is not limited to, social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals in multiple disciplines but with an emphasis on titles in Science & Technology, Social Sciences, and Humanities.
Gale ebooks This link opens in a new window
Ebook titles selected by the Egan Library, primarily encyclopedias and other general reference titles. View tutorial:
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search our Gale Primary Source collections, including Sabin Americana, U.S. Declassified Documents, and American Historical Periodicals.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new window
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available.
Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.