LibGuides: Budget Reductions at Egan Library: FY2018

New Resource: Kanopy Streaming Video

In Spring 2018, the library added the Kanopy Streaming Video collection. This allows access to over 30,000 titles, including documentaries, classic films, and foreign cinema. This is a patron-driven acquisitions collection, where the library pays for titles that are being repeatedly watched. This allows for a large amount of content to be provided for a reasonable cost.

Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window A wide and multi-disciplinary collection of films: documentaries, indie and foreign films, classics, and popular movies. View tutorial:

Cuts made for 2018

ProQuest Psychology Database

This database, brought to us by UAA/APU Consortium Library funding, was not retained for fiscal year 2018, due to flat budget and expanding database costs. Some of the journal articles covered in this database can still be found in other ProQuest databases, and sources like Academic Search Premier (EBSCO).

ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window Search all ProQuest databases available via Egan Library, including scholarly journals, books, videos & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more. View tutorial:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Large multidisciplinary database providing full text access to over 3,100 scholarly publications including nearly 2,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Subject coverage includes, but is not limited to, social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Updated daily.

List of Resources Cut

Journals Cut in FY 2018 for Budget Purposes

Note: our current subscription to these titles should end in December 2017.

Bookforum (now also comes with Artforum subscription)

Bulletin of Marine Science

Communication Culture Package (Titles: Communication Theory; Communication, Culture, and Critique; Human Communication Research; Journal of Communication)

Computers in Libraries (also Internet @ Schools)

Integrative & Comparative Biology (note: this title is Open Access after 1 year)

Journal of Drug Education

Nature (note: this high-quality high-cost title is still available in multiple databases after one year)

Science Education

Youth & Society

Journal Changed

ICES Journal of Marine Science (dropping from Print & Online to Online only)

Journal Added
Yukon: North of Ordinary