Library Research Guides
Library Research Guides
Though in the early days of the COVID-19 Pandemic many providers gave free access to materials, JSTOR kept this free access going for years, only finally expiring at the end of June 2023. By that point, they came up with a new model to get libraries access to the full collection they had been providing for free for a few years. UAS opted in to this new plan, and as such we now have more permanent access to the greatly expanded JSTOR access we've had for several years now. This full content includes:
Archive Journal Collections:
Arts & Sciences I-XV
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Life Sciences
Public Health Journals
Thematic Collections:
Lives of Literature
Security Studies
Sustainability
Primary Source Collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
World Heritage Sites: Africa
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Global Plants
Unfortunately, ArtStor is not part of this new deal, and we have had to cut it.
Egan Library is looking at another large set of cuts needed this year. The following have mostly not been cut yet, but are at the moment the planned cuts for the year. If you have any questions, contact your liaison librarian or reach out to the Reference Desk.
Databases Cut in FY 2024 for Budget Purposes
ArtStor
PsycArticles
Journals Cut in FY 2024 for Budget Purposes
Note: our current subscription to these titles will end in December 2023 for most titles. Most titles are still available in databases, check Journal Titles for available database coverage:
Alaska Native Quarterly (unresponsive when trying to resubscribe)
Alaska Women Speak (have not received any issues since subscribing)
American Anthropologist
American Indian Culture and Research Journal (now Open Access)
Choice Reviews Online
College Composition and Communication
College English
Ecological Applications
Ecology
Etudes - Inuit - Studies
Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment
ICES Journal of Marine Science (now Open Access)
Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature and Environment
Journal of Ethnobiology (Switch from Print to Online)
Journal of Law and Social Deviance
NAIS : Journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association
Pacific Historical Review
Pacific Northwest Quarterly
Permafrost
Phi Delta Kappan (switched from Print & Online to Print Only)
Poetry
Skagway News (ceased in print)
Sky & Telescope
Studies in American Indian Literatures
William and Mary Quarterly
Research Guides by Egan Library | University of Alaska Southeast are licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0
