Budget Reductions at Egan Library

Journals Added in FY 2021 

Journals Cut in FY 2022 for Budget Purposes

Note: our current subscription to these titles should end in December 2021. Many titles are still available in databases, check Journal Titles for available database coverage: 

First Alaskans (moved to open access)

Journal of Applied Phycology

Journal of Teacher Education

Motor (ceased publication)

Professional Photographer

In the midst of the COVID-19 Pandemic, with our budget we were able to mostly maintain things, adding resources along with some corresponding cuts. However, there were also grant opportunities for libraries through the American Rescue Plan Act, and the library successfully received both an "easy" and a "project" grant, as they were administered through the Alaska State Library. Below are details on our additions thanks to grant funds. 

Thanks to the ARPA "easy" grant, the library added ebooks to support student mental health, through a curated collection of Gale ebooks known as Cameron's Collection. For more on this collection, see our related guide:

This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services [LS-250194-OLS-21].

One type of content which the Egan Library had very few holdings in, but which we found our sister universities of UAA and UAF had started to get into, were large digital primary source collections. With our ARPA "project" grant we pursued adding a couple of large collections available through the other UA libraries, specifically Sabin Americana and U.S. Declassified Documents Online. Find out more about both of these in our Gale Primary Sources guide:

This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services [LS-250194-OLS-21].

Additionally, the library was able to add a number of other ebooks on the Gale platform, thanks in part to being able to leverage the sort of volume we were pursuing thanks to the grants. We added their ten best selling books in Education, a collection of 30 best sellers in DEI, and updated a number of our Gale Encyclopedias in the sciences and management. You can find all of these titles in Gale ebooks, and in the library catalog.

Additionally, shared resources were purchased by other UA libraries with their ARPA grants, in particular a number of individual ebook titles on the JSTOR platform on Alaska, as well as a DEI collection from IGI Global. Thank you to UAA and UAF for our excellent continued partnership and cooperation!