LibGuides: Budget Reductions at Egan Library: FY2021

List of Resources Added

Journals Added in FY 2021

Note: in an effort to not have there only be cuts, and to match changes and focuses in UAS programs, the following resources have been added as new subscriptions. All are expected to start in January 2020.

Journal of Faculty Development

Databases Added in FY 2021

Ebsco Education Source (see below)

Education Databases Change

In FY 2021, the UA-wide subscription to the ProQuest Education Databases was ceased. After reviewing the two, UAS added Education Source from Ebsco to replace this resource, and to support the Alaska College of Education.

Education Source This link opens in a new window Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

A Note on Kanopy

After Kanopy's most heavily used year at UAS yet, we were able to secure some of the Federal funding to maintain this resource through the fiscal year. We anticipate that current use is above and beyond normal use, due to the expanded online courses and increased student use over winter break.

List of Resources Cut

Journals Cut in FY 2021 for Budget Purposes

Note: our current subscription to these titles should end in December 2020. Many titles are still available in databases, check Journal Titles for available database coverage:

Journal Titles This link opens in a new window Find periodicals available in full text, open access, or at the Egan Library. Search for the title or subject of journals and newspapers.
Can also search ebooks, reports, conference proceedings, streaming video, and more, by changing the search filters.

ArtNews

Canadian Journal of Zoology

Critical Ethnic Studies (moved to Open Access)

Environment & Planning: D Society & Space

Environmental History

Evolution

Journal of Management Education

New Scientist

Public Administration Review

Western Historical Quarterly

Working Mother (ceased publication)

Journals Changed in FY 2021 for Budget Purposes

Note: we changed our subscription from "print and online" to "online only" for the following resources:

Journal of Teacher Education