LibGuides: OER: Open Educational Resources: Accounting

Textbooks

Introduction to Financial Accounting by H. Dauderis & D. Annand (2024): Lyryx.
This book is intended for a first course in introductory financial accounting. It reflects current International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS). A corporate approach is utilized versus beginning with a sole proprietorship emphasis. The textbook covers all essential topics, including: the accounting cycle; merchandising; assigning costs to inventory; cash and receivables; property, plant and equipment; debt financing; equity financing; statement of cash flows; financial statement analysis; and proprietorships and partnerships.

US GAAP Adaptation 2021 (UMN Open Textbook Library)
UMN Open Textbook Library

Principles of Accounting, Volume 1: Financial Accounting by Various Authors (2019): OpenStax.

Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers financial and managerial accounting. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in two volumes. This book is designed to appeal to majors and non-majors, exposing students to the core concepts of accounting in familiar ways to build a strong foundation that can be applied across business fields.

Principles of Accounting, Volume 2: Managerial Accounting by Various Authors (2019): OpenStax.

Principles of Accounting is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a two-semester accounting course that covers the fundamentals of financial and managerial accounting. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in two volumes. This book is specifically designed to appeal to both accounting and non-accounting majors, exposing students to the core concepts of accounting in familiar ways to build a strong foundation that can be applied across business fields.

Intermediate Financial Accounting, Vol 1 by Glenn Arnold & Suzanne Kyle (2021): Lyryx.

Intermediate Financial Accounting Volume 1 is intended for a first course in Intermediate Financial Accounting, and presumes that students have already completed one or two Introductory Financial Accounting courses. The textbook reflects current International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), such as IFRS 15 – Revenue from Contracts With Customers. This textbook covers all topics essential to a first level Intermediate Accounting course: the conceptual framework and current landscape of financial reporting; statements of financial position; comprehensive income; cash flows and shareholders’ equity; cash and receivables; revenue; inventory; property, plant and equipment; intangible assets; and intercorporate investments.

UMN Open Textbook Library
BC Open Collections (PDF)

Intermediate Financial Accounting, Vol 2 by Glenn Arnold & Suzanne Kyle (2021): Lyryx.

Intermediate Financial Accounting Volume 2 is intended for the second of two in Intermediate Financial Accounting courses. Introductory Financial Accounting and the first Intermediate Financing Accounting course are prerequisites. The textbook reflects both International Financial Reporting Standards and ASPE. This textbook covers the following topics: current, long-term and complex liabilities, income taxes, pensions, leases, shareholders’ equity, earnings per share, statement of cash flows including the direct approach, effects of changes and errors, and disclosures and analysis. Topics that are covered in Advanced Financial Accounting courses, such as consolidations and foreign exchange, are not included here.

UMN Open Textbook Library
BC Open Collections (PDF)

Courses

Accounting for Managers (Lumen)
In Accounting for Managers, students learn the basic accounting principles needed to effectively make business decisions as a manager. The course begins with a review of basic math and accounting principles, ensuring students are prepared for the material that follows. Students will learn how to make financial decisions, including decisions around budgeting, financial statements, and cost and profit analysis.
Introduction to Financial Accounting (Saylor)
This course will introduce you to financial accounting in preparation for more advanced business topics. Recording financial information in a standard format allows managers, investors, lenders, stakeholders, and regulators to make appropriate decisions. In this course, we will look at the Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and Statement of Shareholders' Equity. You will learn how to compile and analyze these financial statements, determine the value of a firm, and compare the firm to its competitors.
Principles of Finance (Saylor)
In this course, you will be exposed to a number of different sub-fields within finance. You will learn how to determine which projects have the best potential payoff, to manage investments, and even to value stocks. In the end, you will discover that all finance boils down to one concept: return. In essence, finance asks: "If I give you money today, how much money will I get back in the future?". Though the answer to this question will vary widely from case to case, by the time you finish this course, you will know how to find the answer.
Finance and Society (MIT OpenCourseWare)
This course provides students with a broad historical and social-scientific introduction to a central aspect of modern economic life: Finance. By drawing upon a variety of disciplinary perspectives from the humanities and social sciences, the course offers a multi-dimentional picture of finance, not only as an economic phenomenon, but as a political, cultural, intellectual, material, and technological one. The course offers an introduction to foundational financial concepts and technologies, and will help students understand finance as a complex and multifaceted phenomenon. This course also provides students with the opportunity to improve skills in written communication, and to learn tools for historical analysis and textual interpretation.
Introduction to Financial and Managerial Accounting (MIT OpenCourseWare)
This course studies basic concepts of financial and managerial reporting. The viewpoint is that of readers of financial and managerial reports rather than the accountants who prepare them.