LibGuides: OER: Open Educational Resources: Business & Public Admin

Textbooks

Introduction to Business by Various Authors (2020): OpenStax.

Introduction to Business covers the scope and sequence of most introductory business courses. The book provides detailed explanations in the context of core themes such as customer satisfaction, ethics, entrepreneurship, global business, and managing change. Introduction to Business includes hundreds of current business examples from a range of industries and geographic locations, which feature a variety of individuals. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of business concepts, with attention to the knowledge and skills necessary for student success in this course and beyond.

Exploring Business (2016): University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing.

Exploring Business introduces students to business roles and concepts in an exciting way. This text will help you decide whether business is right for you and, if so, what areas of business you’d like to study further. This adaptation has reformatted the original text, and replaced some images and figures to make the resulting whole more shareable. This adaptation has not significantly altered or updated the original 2010 text.

Fundamentals of Business by Stephen J. Skripak (2023): Virginia Tech Libraries.

Fundamentals of Business, Fourth Edition (2023) is an 372-page open education resource intended to serve as a no-cost, faculty customizable primary text for one-semester undergraduate introductory business courses. It covers the following topics in business: Teamwork; economics; ethics; entrepreneurship; business ownership, management, and leadership; organizational structures and operations management; human resources and motivating employees; managing in labor union contexts; marketing and pricing strategy; hospitality and tourism, accounting and finance, and personal finances.

Business Communication for Success (2015): University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing.

Business Communication for Success (BCS) provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor. This adaptation has reformatted the original text, and replaced some images and figures to make the resulting whole more shareable. This adaptation has not significantly altered or updated the original 2010 text.

Business Ethics by Various Authors (2020): OpenStax.

Business Ethics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester business ethics course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including case studies, application scenarios, and links to video interviews with executives, all of which help instill in students a sense of ethical awareness and responsibility.

Business Law I by Various Authors (2020): OpenStax.

Business Law I Essentials is a brief introductory textbook designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of courses on Business Law or the Legal Environment of Business. The concepts are presented in a streamlined manner, and cover the key concepts necessary to establish a strong foundation in the subject. The textbook follows a traditional approach to the study of business law. Each chapter contains learning objectives, explanatory narrative and concepts, references for further reading, and end-of-chapter questions.

Business Math: A Step-By-Step Handbook by J. Olivier (2019): Lyryx.

Business Mathematics was written to meet the needs of a twenty-first century student. It takes a systematic approach to helping students learn how to think and centers on a structured process termed the PUPP Model (Plan, Understand, Perform, and Present). This process is found throughout the text and in every guided example to help students develop a step-by-step problem-solving approach.

Introductory Business Statistics by Various Authors (2020): OpenStax.

Introductory Business Statistics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the one-semester statistics course for business, economics, and related majors. Core statistical concepts and skills have been augmented with practical business examples, scenarios, and exercises. The result is a meaningful understanding of the discipline, which will serve students in their business careers and real-world experiences.

OpenStax

Public Administration: The Essentials by Dr. Jayme L. Renfro, University of Northern Iowa

Public Administration: The Essentials provides students with the conceptual foundation they need for an introduction to the field of public administration. This OER textbook covers the most critical issues in the field through the use of classic texts and theory as well as through modern examples..

Open Education Network Manifold Community

Courses

Business Communications (Saylor)
This course will not tell you what to say during your business communications or when to say it. Instead, you will learn how to plan, produce, and perform acts of communication that satisfy the most demanding audience: your customers. Communication is the stage on which customer service superstars perform, so this course begins by taking you onstage to familiarize you with the communication process and the elements that influence it, influence you, and influence your audience.
International Business (Lumen)
This course begins with a theoretical framework for understanding international business and trade, advertising, logistics, corporate strategy, and different systems worldwide for trade, commerce, and business.
Introduction to Business (Saylor)
This course will expose you to business terminology, concepts, and current business practices. We will help you establish a viable business vocabulary, foster critical and analytical thinking, and refine your business decision-making skills. You will acquire these skills by the reading materials, exercises, and research assignments that simulate today's workplace. By delving into the five units of this course, you will fine tune your direction and choice of career in business.