LibGuides: OER: Open Educational Resources: College Success &amp; Counseling

Textbooks

Honoring the Whole Student Workbook: Developing Space for Native American Students in STEM

by Poitra, C., Kolonich, A., Smythe, W. & Tyler, Q (2020, The Native American Institute at Michigan State University)

The motivation for this workbook is to provide Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) faculty the support and tools needed to reflect on their instructional, mentorship, and teaching practices—individually or within a community of learners. The goal is for STEM faculty to foster a deeper understanding of how to more dynamically support Native American students. The activities in this workbook are intended to generate conversation and reflection about the challenges faced by, and world views of, Native American STEM students.

College Success by Various Authors (2020): OpenStax.

OpenStax College Success is a comprehensive and contemporary resource that serves First Year Experience, Student Success, and College Transition courses. Developed with the support of hundreds of faculty and coordinators, the book addresses the evolving challenges and opportunities of today’s diverse students. Engagement, self-analysis, personal responsibility, and student support are reflected throughout the material. College Success also includes an array of student surveys and opinion polls, and OpenStax will regularly provide the results to adopting faculty.

Strategies for Academic Success by Liv Marken (2020): University of Saskatchewan/BCcampus.

Strategies for Academic Success accompanies the first-year University of Saskatchewan College of Arts and Science online course by the same name. However, the information it contains will apply to post-secondary institutions all over. The textbook has a reader-friendly format arranged to help you develop the essential skills and provide the information you need to succeed in university.

College Success (2015): University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing.

College Success has a student-friendly format arranged to help you develop the essential skills and provide the information you need to succeed in college. This is not a textbook full of theory and extensive detail that merely discusses student success; rather, this is a how-to manual for succeeding in college. The book provides realistic, practical guidance ranging from study skills to personal health, from test taking to managing time and money. Furthermore, College Success is accessible—information is presented concisely and as simply as possible.

Foundations of Academic Success: Words of Wisdom by Thomas Priester (2015): Open SUNY.

Foundations of Academic Success: Words of Wisdom introduces you to the various aspects of student and academic life on campus and prepares you to thrive as a successful college student (since there is a difference between a college student and a successful college student). The lessons learned are meant to enlarge your awareness of self with respect to your academic and personal goals and assist you to gain the necessary skills to succeed in college.

Blueprint for Success in College and Career by Dave Dillon (2019): Rebus Community.

A free, Open Educational Resource, Blueprint for Success in College and Career is a students' guide for classroom and career success. This text, designed to show how to be successful in college and in career preparation focuses on study skills, time management, career exploration, health, and financial literacy.

PressBooks

Introduction to College and Strategies for Success by Erika Torgeson (2020): College of the Canyons.

Covers topics including how college works, how to stay motivated and on track, organization skills, cultural diversity and inclusion, study skills, financial literacy, career explorations and academic planning.

College of the Canyons

Learning to Learn by Julie Hovden, Anh Nguyen & Aivee Ortega (2020): College of the Canyons.

Covers topics including time management skills, critical thinking, active listening and note-taking in lectures, motivation and goal-setting, test prep and test taking, memory and information processing functions of the brain, mindfulness, emotional intelligence and managing stress.

College of the Canyons

Student Success by Graciela Martinez, Anh Nguyen & Liz Shaker (2020): College of the Canyons.

Covers topics including self awareness, fixed vs growth mindset, cultural diversity on campus, effective communication with peers and professors, self-efficacy, motivation, time management skills, and academic integrity.

College of the Canyons

Courses

Achieving Success and Happiness in College: 5 Ways to Make it Work
ACHIEVING SUCCESS AND HAPPINESS IN COLLEGE is designed to help students to be successful in college. This includes students who plan to enter a college or university, as well as those who are currently enrolled and want to make the most of it! This book provides insights to help students understand college life and strategies to address the most pressing issues—the personal challenges, social pressures, and academic demands. It includes thought-provoking quotes, humor, honesty, and techniques for becoming an effective learner as well as a leader.
College Success (Lumen)
This course provides new students with an orientation to the college environment. It works to build more capable lifelong learners by combining conceptual knowledge with practical strategies and skills. With engaging content and a focus on applying course concepts to real-world situations, College Success is particularly helpful for first-generation students and those entering college underprepared, academically or otherwise.
College Success Course (OpenCourse Library)
This course is designed to equip you with the tools to succeed during your college career. Simply attending school for many years is no guarantee that you have a clear understanding of the specific strategies needed to get what you want out of college. This course will provide the opportunity for you to learn and practice methods that will assist you in identifying and reaching your academic and career goals.
Freshman Experience (Lumen)
This course has been designed to help students succeed. Students will learn many proven strategies that will help them excel in academics as well as personal life. Various types of activities and assignments will engage students in the learning process.
Learning How To Learn (UC San Diego/Coursera)
This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects.
Time & Stress Management (Saylor)
Time management and stress management are two key components to succeeding in life. Creating a system to identify, evaluate, and eliminate distractors and stressors will lead to a more productive and efficient life, inside and outside of work. In this course, you will learn how to earn more time and be less stressed.