LibGuides: OER: Open Educational Resources: Communication Studies

Textbooks

Understanding Media and Culture Subtitle:An Introduction to Mass Communication (2016): University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing.

Understanding Media and Culture: An Introduction to Mass Communication , will support an engaging and interesting course experience for students that will not only show them the powerful social, political and economic forces will affect the future of media technology, but will challenge students to do their part in shaping that future.

UMN Open Textbook Library

Interpersonal Communication Subtitle:A Mindful Approach to Relationships (2020): Jason S. Wrench; Narissra M. Punyanunt-Carter; and Katherine S. Thweatt.

Interpersonal Communication: A Mindful Approach to Relationships helps readers examine their own one-on-one communicative interactions using a mindfulness lens. The writing team of Jason S. Wrench, Narissra M. Punyanunt-Carter, and Katherine Thweatt incorporates the latest communication theory and research to help students navigate everyday interpersonal interactions. The 14 chapters in this book cover topics typically taught in an undergraduate interpersonal communication course: family interactions, interpersonal dynamics, language, listening, nonverbal communication, and romantic relationships, as well as exploring emerging areas such as self-compassion, body positivity, friendships, and “the dark side”. The writing takes on a purposefully informal tone to engage readers. Each chapter is broken into different sections that have unique instructional outcomes, key takeaways, and exercises, and concludes with real-world case studies and sample quiz questions. Also included is an extensive glossary with over 350 definitions.

Small Group Communication: Forming & Sustaining Teams (2021): Linabary, J.R. (Ed.).

Small Group Communication: Forming & Sustaining Teams is an interdisciplinary textbook focused on communication in groups and teams. This textbook aims to provide students with theories, concepts, and skills they can put into practice to form and sustain successful groups across a variety of contexts.

Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies (2016): University of Minnesota
Libraries Publishing.

Communication in the Real World: An Introduction to Communication Studies overviews the time-tested conceptual foundations of the field, while incorporating the latest research and cutting-edge applications of these basics. Each chapter will include timely, concrete, and real-life examples of communication concepts in action.

Arguing Using Critical Thinking by Jim Marteney (2020): LA Valley College/ASCC OERI.

Critical thinking is a series learned skills. In each chapter of this book you will find a variety of skills that will help you improve your thinking and argumentative ability. As you improve, you will grow into a more confident person being more in charge of your world and the decisions you make.

ASCCC OERI

Exploring Public Speaking, 4th Edition by Barbara Tucker & Kris Barton (2019): University System of Georgia.

This text includes appendices on online speaking, APA, humor and storytelling in public speaking, and one on Dalton State’s Library. The book also covers use of PowerPoint, audience responsiveness, ethics in public speaking, special occasion speeches, and structure of speeches. Three ancillaries are available: electronic “flash cards” for study, Powerpoints on the 15 main chapters, and test banks for the 15 main chapters.

Stand Up, Speak Out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking (2016): University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing.

Stand up, Speak out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking features two key themes. First it focuses on helping students become more seasoned and polished public speakers, and second is its emphasis on ethics in communication. It is this practical approach and integrated ethical coverage that sets Stand up, Speak out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking apart from the other texts in this market.

Process of Communication by Tammera Stokes Rice (2020): College of the Canyons.

An overview of human communication processes, including historical context. Covers speaking and listening, verbal and nonverbal communication between individuals, within groups, interculturally, and up to mass communications via written and broadcast communications.

Online PDF

Fundamentals of Public Speaking by Tammera Stokes-Rice, Victoria Leonard & Lauren Rome (2019): College of the
Canyons.

This text covers a wide range of topics regarding public speaking, including ethics, speaking with confidence, effective listening, audience analysis, outlining and organizing, speech delivery, introductions and conclusions, visual aid usage, critical thinking and reasoning, and special occasions.

Online PDF

Small Group Communication compiled by Trudy Radtke (2019): College of the Canyons.

This text covers a wide range of topics about small group communication, including group dynamics, team management, small group communication across cultures, verbal and nonverbal communication, leadership, listening skills, problem solving and managing conflict.

Online PDF

Interpersonal Communication compiled by Victoria Leonard (2019): College of the Canyons.

This textbook will cover topics such as: dealing with conflict, how to communicate in professional and personal relationships, and self-presentation in communication. Contains chapters addressing conflict in interpersonal communication and communication in relationships.

Online PDF

Intercultural Communication by Tammera Stokes Rice (2019): College of the Canyons.

This textbook was written and designed especially for College of the Canyons Communications students. The following chapters will cover topics such as: understanding cultural identity (including defining culture, subcultures and countercultures), social construction of identity, including ability, race, gender, and sexuality; cultural biases, and culture shock.

Online PDF

Courses

Group Communication (Saylor)
You apply the principles of interpersonal communication in many settings in your daily life. A common setting is while working in small groups or teams. This type of communication happens casually as you interact with family and friends as well as more formally when you attempt to solve a challenge at work, at school, or while volunteering for a service activity. This course will focus on the principles of small group communication to help us better navigate this important communication setting.
Interpersonal Communication (Saylor)
This course will define interpersonal communication and apply its basic elements to everyday situations. You will investigate interpersonal communication in its formal and informal settings, and discuss conflict management. Conflicts arise in all relationships, with family and friends as well as with colleagues in the workplace. Understanding and applying human communication principles to these situations can often help to diffuse conflicts and even prevent conflict.
Introduction to Communication Science (University of Amsterdam/Coursera)
Introduction to Communication Science explores some of the basic theories, models and concepts from the fields of mass, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication. The course begins with a consideration of several basic models, subsequently progressing to the history of communication theory, linear effect-oriented theories, the reception approach and, finally, exploring theories on the production and reinforcement of culture through communication.
Public Relations (Saylor)
This course will help prepare you to conduct public relations suitable for small start-up businesses, international companies, political campaigns, social programs, personal development, and other outreach projects. There are many tools useful to effective public relations.
Public Speaking (Saylor)
This course systematically examines the elements of an effective speech. The course textbook and lectures go through an element-by-element examination of the essentials of public speaking, while also identifying traits of the individual speaker and how they impact preparation and presentation. In addition to these resources, a comprehensive series of brief videos demonstrate specific, performance-oriented aspects of public speaking.
Rhetoric: The Art of Persuasive Writing and Public Speaking (Harvard/edX)
This course is an introduction to the theory and practice of rhetoric, the art of persuasive writing and speech. In it, you will learn to construct and defend compelling arguments, a crucial skill in many settings. We will be using selected speeches from prominent twentieth-century Americans -- including Martin Luther King Jr., John F. Kennedy, Margaret Chase Smith, Ronald Reagan, and more -- to explore and analyze rhetorical structure and style. Through this analysis, you will learn how speakers and writers persuade an audience to adopt their point of view.

Additional Resources

Communication Theory (OER Commons)

Courses in Communication (Saylor)

Introduction to Group Communication (2012 Book Archive)

Public Speaking Project