LibGuides: OER: Open Educational Resources: Art History

Textbooks

Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning by Pamela Sachant & Peggy Blood (2016): University of North
Georgia Press.

This text offers a comprehensive introduction to the world of Art. It includes over 400 high-quality images illustrating the history of art, its technical applications, and its many uses. Combining the best elements of both a traditional textbook and a reader, it introduces such issues in art as its meaning and purpose; its meaning and purpose; its structure, material, and form; and its diverse effects on our lives.

A World Perspective of Art Appreciation by Deborah Gustlin & Zoe Gustlin (2019): OER LibreTexts Project/Open
Educational Resources Initiative.

An OER text to cover world art on a timeline from prehistoric to modern times with an emphasis on female artists. This book, created by faculty at Evergreen Valley College, traces the history of art from 'the dawn of art' in the form of cave paintings and small objects, to architecture and sophisticated art forms in various global cultures. The book concludes with surveys of contemporary and modern art, all the way into the 21st century.

LibreTexts

The Bright Continent: African Art History by Kathy Curnow (2018): MSL Academic Endeavors.

This book aims to act as your map through the world of African art. As such, it will help you define the competencies you need to develop–visual analysis, research, noting what information is critical, asking questions, and writing down your observations–and provide opportunities for you to practice these skills until you are proficient. It will also expose you to new art forms and the worlds that produced them, enriching your understanding and appreciation.

Guide to Ancient Egyptian Art by Ruth Ezra, Beth Harris & Steven Zucker (2019): Smarthistory.

This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for Ancient Egyptian art. Contains overview of Egyptian art, starting with Predynastic, then moving to Old Kingdom, Middle & New Kingdom art movements and examples.

Guide to Ancient Aegean Art by Ruth Ezra, Beth Harris & Steven Zucker (2019): Smarthistory.

This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for the Ancient Aegean art world, including Cycladic, Minoan, and Mycenaean art.

Guide to Ancient Etruscan Art by Ruth Ezra, Beth Harris & Steven Zucker (2019): Smarthistory.

This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for Ancient Etruscan art. Includes a historical overview of the Etruscan people, as well as detailed histories and review of art techniques used to create many pieces of Etruscan art.

Guide to Ancient Greek Art by Ruth Ezra, Beth Harris & Steven Zucker (2019): Smarthistory.

This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for Ancient Greek art. Begins with an introduction, then discusses pottery, Daedalic & Archaic, Early, mid & Late Classical art, and Hellenistic art.

Guide to Ancient Near Eastern Art by Ruth Ezra, Beth Harris & Steven Zucker (2019): Smarthistory.

This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for Ancient Near Eastern art. Text includes all of Smarthistory’s content for Sumerian, Akkadian, Neo-Sumerian / Ur III, Babylonian, Assyrian and Persian art.

Guide to Ancient Roman Art by Ruth Ezra, Beth Harris & Steven Zucker (2019): Smarthistory.

This book contains all of Smarthistory’s content for Ancient Roman art. Includes an introduction to Ancient Rome, wall paintings/frescoes, and art styles and techniques throughout the Roman Early, Middle & Late Empire.

Courses

Art History 101: Art Appreciation (Saylor)
This course is an exploration of visual art forms and their cultural connections across historical periods, designed for the student with little experience in the visual arts. It includes brief studies in art history, and in-depth inquiry into the elements, media and methods used in a wide range of creative processes. At the beginning of this course, you will learn a five-step system for developing an understanding of visual art in all forms.
Art History I (SUNY/Lumen)
An art history course in two parts; this is part one. The course follows mostly western art history from prehistoric cave paintings to Gothic art in Europe.
Art History II (SUNY/Lumen)
Part II of the Art History course linked above. This portion of the course moves from the Proto-Renaissance to the current movements happening in contemporary art.
Art History Glossary Project (ASCCC OERI)
Glossary for SUNY’s “Art History and Appreciation I” that was developed by Lumen Learning. This Art History glossary is available in Canvas Commons. If the provided link does not work, please search “ASCCC” in Canvas Commons to find all ASCCC OERI resources.